Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How can ISE communicate with Matlab ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vonn

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Messages
230
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,460
Do any body know if the ISE can communicate some way with matlab ..
i know that there is a tool can do it but iam not sure which one
 

allegro

Member level 1
Joined
Oct 22, 2001
Messages
40
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
179
ise与matlab

why to do so ?
 

Amuro

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
194
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Thailand
Activity points
1,700
The System Generator for DSP tool is one of the industry's most popular DSP design tools for FPGAs. It automatically translates DSP systems developed using MATLAB® and Simulink® from The MathWorks into highly optimized VHDL and IP cores for Xilinx® FPGAs.

Designers can design and simulate a system using MATLAB, Simulink, and Xilinx library of bit/cycle-true models. Then it can greatly shorten the path from design concept to working hardware.
 

nattawoot_s

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
99
Use system generator or DSP builder
 

zape

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
120
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Spain
Activity points
1,043
What happens if you need to modify the vhdl code? Is it easy to understand ( structure, labels, comments) or it is just as thousands of port maps?
 

stanchen

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
66
zape said:
What happens if you need to modify the vhdl code? Is it easy to understand ( structure, labels, comments) or it is just as thousands of port maps?
For what i've heard from Mathworks, those auto-generated VHDL codes are NOT meant to be modified manually by designers... :p
 

paviljonac

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
17
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
152
Re: ISE and Matlab ?

there is no need to change auto-generated code. but, sometimes there is a need to use project generated in sysgen as a module in bigger design (which for example employ multiple clock domains...)... only if so, you should change some of the autogenerated files.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top