Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how can I turn on ATX power supply without PC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,651
aatx power supply schematic

Hi

I want to turn on and Off a ATX power supply but without pc(standalone)

please give your solutions.

bye
 

Analyzer

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
374
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,518
You also can find detailed explanation on vvv.tomshardware.net No need to build schematic.I can't remember clearly but you should connect power good pin (green) to vcc.(I'm not sure please have reference)
 

barrybear

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
239
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,035
Normaly the grounding of the inpulse line will bring on an atx power supply.One thing to remember is that you have to load the +5 volt rail and allso the +12-12 rails.
Barrybear
 

woody28

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
64
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
450
just short green wire to GND (black ones)
 

Bus Master

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Messages
187
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Just behind You ;-)
Activity points
1,462
A tricky piece of information:

This type of power supplies needs "Minimum Load Current" to be drawn from the +5V & +12V concurrently in order to sope the o/p current range to it's full range. i.e., if you load the +5V only you will get only about 500-600 mA before the o/p voltage starts to drop down dramatically.

This is my own experience with this type of SMPS. I had to draw 2A of the +5V and 2A from the +12V to supply my 1.5A@5VDC uC based circuit.


Hope this helps.
 

DVS

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 16, 2001
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
First I recommend you read ATX spec, and then Just short the PIN PS_ON and GND of ATX connector.
 

Sebi

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
63
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Hungary
Activity points
444
Yes,You need a short between pin14 (PWR_ON,green) and pin15(GND,black). Most of ATXPSU have voltage feedback only from 5V output. If you apply a load only 12V out, the PSU switched off,because the overvoltage circuit detect a failure.In this case apply abot 1...2A dummy load to 5V out.(as busmaster wrote) I`ve made a 14V 15A accu charger from old AT supply (better construction as today...).
 

megamicro

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
220
Hi Sebi,

tell me more about this accumulator charger - how can I obtain 14V from
12?

Is it possible to increase the voltage from standart ATX power suply?
 

Sebi

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
63
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Hungary
Activity points
444
Yes, megamicro see this:http://www.technick.net/public/code/index.php ,
In this circuit the output voltage depend from voltage divider on TL494 pin1. R20 and R21 go to GND. When You decrease R21 the output voltages increased. R25 and R26 feedback resistors from 5V and 12V outputs.(here is some drawing failure.)
If You want modify to accu-charger, apply feedback only from one output(12V) and remove the components for other outputs and overvoltage protection.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top