Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how can i run a windows based application in linux?

Status
Not open for further replies.

binu G

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
501
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
3,782
hi,
how can i install and run the window based application
in linux ?

is that possible ?

is it effective.?

windows is always crashing .

binu g
 

mcoster

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
51
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
633
Have you tried Wine ?

http://www.winehq.com/

I haven´t used it but friends of mine says it is very effective. They could run W*i*n*d*o*w*s games and even o*f*f*i*c*e and m*a*t*l*a*b...
The problem, if i remenber well, it is not free... but i am not sure...
Try it.
:idea:
mcoster
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
no wine if free ..
I just use wine 20040716 rpm file

but wine not support DirectX for windows game
and 2 commerical version wineX / crossover
they is not free , but wineX can run windows game --> see Tom hardware guide for detail ..

but I don't wine can port windows EDA to linux , becuase windows EDA
have many enviroment like set directory
set license file ..

I think wine will fail on it .. another problem wine not support
remote display ( I am not sure it ..)

by the way , how about win4Linux

http://www.netraverse.com/support/downloads/

win4Linux have TS (terminal Server)
TS_client
and win4Linux

I don't know how difference about it .. I think if use TS version
we can remote display to other PC ..
but if we only need remote display to other Linux/Unix ??
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
636
Reputation
1,270
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
If you ever want to go the other way around (run Linux apps under Windows) try coLinux:
http://colinux.org/wiki/index.php/

I discovered it a month ago, and eight hours later I was running Debian Linux and X apps on my Win2k desktop.
coLinux runs from a drive image file, so I didn't have to partition my hard drive. Great for occasional Linux users.
 

hunnylionus

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
57
There're some stuffs that you can use to run linux on win. Try cygwin or Uwin you'll have kinda unix-like terminals on windows.
window-based softwares can run on linux, but now generally you can find a port from win to *nix or vice versa
 

mami_hacky

Full Member level 6
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
Messages
337
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Some where
Activity points
3,428
I'm wondering if you want to run a windows based app in linux bacause windows always crashes. this one is really funny. change your windows to a better one, e.g. XP to 2003 server or ... it is better than doing every other thing.
Some eda tools are written in java and they can be directly executed under any operating system. look if your's is one of them. a famous example : Xilinx coregen. or :D matlab. ummm ok , at least the command window is java however I know, it is not true for the rest of it.
 

binu G

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
501
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
3,782
mami_hacky said:
I'm wondering if you want to run a windows based app in linux bacause windows always crashes. this one is really funny. change your windows to a better one, e.g. XP to 2003 server or ... it is better than doing every other thing.
.
iam using win2003.
may have many loop holes because torj and virus get attack easly and make my system unstable. even the latest anti virus dont help.
the other fun is that after i put the fire wall, which come along with the operating system. when i rebooted the system again two ports were asigned automaticly for external communication. which i havent assigned.
may be this can be a activity of torj.

binu g
 

Ozonehole2k

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 25, 2004
Messages
31
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
426
mami_hacky said:
I'm wondering if you want to run a windows based app in linux bacause windows always crashes. this one is really funny.
Just make me think of another use of something like vmware. My labmate suddenly wanted to write an OS in his PC one day (just for the sake of it)... You know programming those protected mode etc are very prompt to crash... A VM (vmware) really saved his day.
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
I setup a linux server for hspice .. but hspice no awaves on linux
other waveform tool I don;t like it ..
so I try to use wine run windows Base awaves .exe ..

but still fail ..

by the way , where can I download cygwin total setup file ..
my home PC is "off line" PC
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top