Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can I program Altera EPM7160E and Xilinx XC7354

Status
Not open for further replies.

FoxyRick

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
epm7160e programming

I want to learn about CPLD's without spending too much money (I'm a teacher, I don't have much money to waste) and have seen a bunch of Altera Max EPM7160ELC84-15 and Xilinx XC7354 for sale.

Can I program these with a simple adapter, like byteblaster, or do they need a serious programmer (that I can't afford)?

I have been trying to get information on them but the xilinx search engine is not working, Google has not found much and the sale ends in a few hours. I don't want to miss them if I can use them, or waste money if I can't.

Cheers,
FoxyRick.

Hello FoxyRick,

both CPLDs can be programmed with a very simple parallel port adapter.

Altera -> ByteBlaster
Xilinx -> Parallel Download Cable

Bye,
cube007

Hi Cube007,

Thanks for the reply. Please excuse me, but I'm not sure you are right. I have been searching *all day* for info, and this is what I have found so far:

The Xilinx XC7354 is, firstly, EPROM, so unless it is windowed (the ones for sale are not) it can't be reprogrammed. Also, the datasheets I have found for it do not show any jtag or other programming pins. I can only assume it needs external programming - I have found *nothing* to indicate anything else.