Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how can i make radar using op amp??

Status
Not open for further replies.

tehmaas hasan

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Greetings every one.

I want to make a radar using op amp as my course project.

I cannot find useful information I need a working schematic to perform this task need some guideline and help for my project. Since I am new to op amp I want your help.

thanks in advance.

RADAR is basically 1 ms Pulse of RF energy where the resolution is determined by the center frequency, as such tranponders need to switch and detect reflections at the speed of light, something which Op Amps do not have the necessary bandwidth. even at 10Mhz. You need > 1GHz for RADAR.

But with a remote transmitter you can determine Doppler shift at Seismic frequencies <0.1~20Hz using a large explosion submerged in a water filled well. We used an old miner with the explosive certs when we were students for for Earth Science's Seismic department at U of M to detect seismic waves 500Km from a 2 ton blast.

Then we used WWVB binary time codes broadcast from Boulder, Colorado with a VHF WWVB receiver to get 1 second time stamps on portable seismic recorders before GPS was invented.

When I graduated I designed a Doppler tracking telemetry station using an ultra-stable $300 OCXO and custom PLL to transmit a 100Khz sine wave sub-carrier on the data transmitter from a Black Brandt Rocket to track its position instead of the 2 man WWI radar equipment that filled a trailer (TRACS) for <1% of the cost and no maintenance was required.