Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can I improve the gain of CMOS Gilbert cell mixer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nadya

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I am a first time analogue designer and need help with my Gilbert cell mixer for Bluetooth (CMOS 0.18um technology). The problem is that my circuit has a negative gain though, I believe, 10 dB is achievable. I have tried the following:
1. impedance matching with a shunt inductor of 1.5nH on both RF and LO inputs. This improved linearity but not the gain.
2. To bias the bottom two switch trasistors so that they operate in the saturation region (Vgs< Vds, right?) but that makes the gain even worse. I tried to bias them by means of introducing an offset source at the gate of the transistors.
3. Make the transistors wider. This does help a bit but even with 300 um gates my gain is still negative.

I would very much appreciate any advice anybody can give me.

In CMOS amplifiers reducing current generally improves gain.

Perhaps the 2 bottom transistor's should be in Sub-Threshold. This also improves gain.

Increase the upper transistor's L (length). This increases channel modulation effect, thus increasing incremental resistance Ro which will increase your gain. If you can't change W/L ratio increase W and L by the same amount. The ratio will be the same but the channel modulation will increase anyway.

How are you connecting your upper transistor's? As "diode connection" or as "current sources"?