Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can I generate a VCD file?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mamdouh

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
34
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,490
VCD file

How can I generate a VCD file?
 

nsingh95

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
59
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,558
Re: VCD file

Mamdouh said:
How can I generate a VCD file?

Hi,
Inorder to generate a vcd file , you have to use following key words in your test bench file ... ie <testbench top filename.v>:
type :


initial
dumpfile("module_name.vcd");
initial
dumpvars();

If you simulate with this logic you will surely get the vcd file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: njr@1

    njr@1

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

balavinayagam

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
59
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,288
Location
banglore
Activity points
1,630
open terminal and load ur verilog file (cd /cad ...cd <filename>)
then type
"vcs <pathname> <pathname of testbench> + v2k -debug_all
`/simv-gui"
waveform is generated
right click on the schematic,add to wave simulator_start

then .vcd file is generated
 
  • Like
Reactions: njr@1

    njr@1

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

vivek_p

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
115
Helped
10
Reputation
24
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,009
$dumpvars;

Paste this in ur test bench
 

Mamdouh

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
34
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,490
nsingh95 said:
Hi,
Inorder to generate a vcd file , you have to use following key words in your test bench file ... ie <testbench top filename.v>:
type :


initial
dumpfile("module_name.vcd");
initial
dumpvars();

If you simulate with this logic you will surely get the vcd file.

how can i write these lines in vhdl format

Added after 1 hours 4 minutes:

to be specific i want to generate vcd file from testbench.vhd using xilinx ?
 

nsingh95

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
59
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,558
Mamdouh said:
nsingh95 said:
Hi,
Inorder to generate a vcd file , you have to use following key words in your test bench file ... ie <testbench top filename.v>:
type :


initial
dumpfile("module_name.vcd");
initial
dumpvars();

If you simulate with this logic you will surely get the vcd file.

how can i write these lines in vhdl format

Added after 1 hours 4 minutes:

to be specific i want to generate vcd file from testbench.vhd using xilinx ?

Hi,
Please see the section 11 of the attached pdf. All your issues will be resolved.
 

Mamdouh

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
34
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,490
first thanks very much i used the commands in the manual and here's the generated vcd file i know there's something wrong but i cant figure it out??


$comment
File created using the following command:
vcd file ana.vcd -dumpports

$end
$date
Thu May 06 22:35:44 2010
$end
$version
dumpports ModelSim Version 6.5
$end
$timescale
1ps
$end
$vcdclose
#1000
$end
 

nsingh95

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
59
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,558
Mamdouh said:
first thanks very much i used the commands in the manual and here's the generated vcd file i know there's something wrong but i cant figure it out??


$comment
File created using the following command:
vcd file ana.vcd -dumpports

$end
$date
Thu May 06 22:35:44 2010
$end
$version
dumpports ModelSim Version 6.5
$end
$timescale
1ps
$end
$vcdclose
#1000
$end

Hi,
Please let me know the issue you are facing.
 

cvc

Member level 3
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore India
Activity points
1,711
Mamdouh said:
first thanks very much i used the commands in the manual and here's the generated vcd file i know there's something wrong but i cant figure it out??


$comment
File created using the following command:
vcd file ana.vcd -dumpports

$end
$date
Thu May 06 22:35:44 2010
$end
$version
dumpports ModelSim Version 6.5
$end
$timescale
1ps
$end
$vcdclose
#1000
$end

It looks like there was no activity on your signals hence the VCD file is empty of "value changes". Did you see a waveform in Modelsim? If so do you have a vsim.wlf file created? If yes you may also use

Code:
wlf2vcd (or something similar)

to create VCD out of WLF file.

Regards
TeamCVC
www.cvcblr.com/blog
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top