Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can I burn a cpld with a core?

Status
Not open for further replies.

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,637
Hello

I get the HDLC IP Core from 0penc0res.org and I want to burn it in an altera cpld.I am not familar with verilog and I am new with this problem,
Please help me,and say how can I do this.

I want to build a HDLC controller with that IP core in a altera cpld(m@x7000).

Thanks for your helps.
 

sucan

Newbie level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
108
Are you mean config(program) the CPLD or others?
 

elcielo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
383
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,250
I recommand Z85c30 for your design.

It is popular.

You can buy easy.
 

cesare

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
175
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,226
usually the core is provided as source file (VHDL or Verilog).

The first thing you have to do is to "compile" the project with the development software.

Note that it is very probable that you have to modify the core to suit the design to the requirement of your device.

Then you have to download the JTAG file to the device with the programmer.

Regards.
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,637
I want to program the compiled HDLC IP c0re(in VHDL) in an altera CPLD (like as M@x7000 series).

What softwares and programmers I need? Is my way to do it correct?(I want only use HDLC core with no changes in core).
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,637
Where can I find the sch of byte bl@ster?
This free version of M@xplus does not support VHDL sources.
???
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top