Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can I build a 220VAC 400HZ from 220VAC 50HZ at 3W output

Status
Not open for further replies.

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,183
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,635
220VAC 400HZ? how?

Hi

How can I build a 220VAC 400HZ from 220VAC 50HZ at 3W power output??
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,933
Helped
638
Reputation
1,274
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,176
220VAC 400HZ? how?

Here's a quick workbench setup:
Use a sinewave generator, an audio amplifier, and an ordinary power transformer wired as step-up (most 50/60 Hz transformers work fine at 400 Hz).
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,626
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
Re: 220VAC 400HZ? how?

If you just need this to repair something, you can first disconnect the internal power supply and connect a lab supply of the proper voltage settings instead of the internal supply. This will work if it is the powered circuit and not the 220AC to DC supply that is defective. Usually internal power supplies fail in ways that make visual clues and sometimes nose-smelling clues.
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,183
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,635
Re: 220VAC 400HZ? how?

I had a mistake in power ,The power output must be 3KW,

I want to design it,and if it difficult I want to buy ,please give some design idea or manufactures link of above system.

bye
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,933
Helped
638
Reputation
1,274
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,176
Re: 220VAC 400HZ? how?

Watts, kilowatts, it's just a tiny decimal point. ;)

Try searching Google for rotary frequency converter or maybe motor generator frequency converter. They are rugged, efficient, and output a nice sinewave.
 

batdin

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
182
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bulgaria
Activity points
1,928
Re: 220VAC 400HZ? how?

I've seen such a thing used with the old military radars.
It consisted of a 50Hz motor connected to a generator by a transmission gear.
I know it is hard to do it but the other way seems a bit more complicated to me.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top