Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

hold analysis during synthesis

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun_ray

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
772
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,828
How to dump the hold report during synthesis. Which command and what options to be used? Is it necessary to do hold analysis during synthesis? How can hold violation be fixed during synthesis?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sharath666

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
552
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
124
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
3,830
Hold reports are not generated during synthesis. But you can have a look by using -min option with the report_timing command...
 

sun_ray

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
772
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,828
So hold report can be generated during synthesis by putting report_timing with -min option. Is not it?
 

sun_ray

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
772
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,828
How does this hold report generated during synthesis help? How can we fix hold violations during synthesis?

Regards
 

biju4u90

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
172
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,437
Even if you fix the hold violations in the synthesis stage, they may arise in the PnR flow. The true status of the hold violations will be available only after CTS since we use ideal clock till then. Usually, hold violations can be fixed by inserting delay elements in the data path. So we are least bothered about hold violations in the synthesis stage. What we worry about in the synthesis stage is the set up violations. If we are unable to fix the set up violations at this stage, we may not be able to fix them in the PnR stage. In such a case, we will have to change our logic of the design!!
 

kumar_eee

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
814
Helped
139
Reputation
276
Reaction score
110
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Bangalore,India
Activity points
4,676
biju4u90, your answer is perfect.

We usually dont check the Hold till the Clock-tree is built. The main reason is, for the Hold, we need to know the exact Skew vaule.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top