Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

high voltage DC measurement

Status
Not open for further replies.

sawaak

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
143
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,017
Hi,

I have few DC voltages upto 300V that I have to measure, using an ADC. Accuracy is not that important. I am trying to use the following circuit, need to know is that approach correct? and what things I need to consider to use this circuit?

22_1316495535.jpg



Thanks,
sawaak
 

Integrated

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
39
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
338
Hi,

Keep in mind the input resistance of your A/D, (beacuse obviously you are going to use big resistors).... Also you may like to measure the current when voltage is passed through a resistor, but that depends on mechanical situation of your design.

regards
 
  • Like
Reactions: sawaak

    sawaak

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

uoficowboy

Full Member level 3
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
168
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Seattle, Wa, USA
Activity points
2,946
Also remember that most surface mount resistors have breakdown voltages of 200V or less. So be careful with your resistor selection! A small capacitor in parallel with your bottom resistor should also give you some surge protection as well as some filtering.
 

zeroskj1988

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
46
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,588
i think you can use 220k-1k combination to reduce the voltage level approximately to 1.5v. one thing u should remember is you have to use 1w resistor
 

atripathi

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
452
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,318
Location
INDIA
Activity points
3,818
YOu may want to add varistors for protection against spikes. Although it would depends upon DC bus voltage nature.
 

ard

Full Member level 5
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
252
Helped
52
Reputation
104
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Mumbai, India
Activity points
2,783
Lets work this backwards.

You have a maximum of 300 volts, to be pared down to a maximum of 5 volts.

Your ADC input shouldnt see an impedance of more than say, 4.7k. Then, the upper resistance in the voltage divider will have to be around 330k. This resistor would drop almost the whole 300 volts across itself, so the power rating works out to slightly over quarter watt. Therefore, a 1 watt resistor should be fine.

Hope I havent messed up the math.

Regards,

Anand Dhuru
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top