Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

High speed op amp circuit problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeremyn

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
increasing gain of ad8000 amplifier

Hi,

I'm trying to build a non-inverting gain circuit using one of several possible op-amps (Analog AD8000, National LMH6702, LMH6703).

I am following the manufacturers recommended design, but having the same problem with all 3 chips. My output is dropping sharply and reversing phase at about 45MHz.

I know this is a pretty specific question, but maybe someone here has dealt with the same problem...I am totally new to this and don't have any ideas.

I've attached a schematic of my circuit and a Bode plot to anyone who might be able to help.

Thanks!

-Jeremy

Re: Op-amp

I'll try to upload the bode plot

Study frequency behaviour and stability of opamps and you'll understand what has happened. Amplifiers are only stable up to a finite frequency. They are therefore usually frequency compensated internally or externally. I guess these opamps are internally compensated. Roughly speaking, this means that the gain will approach zero at some frequency where the opamp otherwise could have been unstable.

U are saying that phase reverses at 45M , because AD8000 is a high speed opamp for video apll's may be ur ckt loads are improper and u r getting a fast phse deteriotations at min freqs. Its despends on how much load ur using and cap &R of probe u r using for measurements. See ur set up probes that may have any strong loading effect .