Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HFSS Lumped Gap Source

Status
Not open for further replies.

desertfox

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
lumped port calibration

HFSS newbie here

I am trying to simulate an Interconnect line test structure mouted on a Silicon substrate. Its basically 2 lines in Parallel and i need to define 2 ports on either side to get the S Parameters. Question is, If I use Lumped Gap source to define the Ports,

How do I Draw the Calibration and Impedance Lines? Can Someone describe how to do it or Does anyone have any Graphical Examples or links?

Thanks

Added after 52 minutes:

I have attached a Drawing of the Structure... it is Top view, and i have labled the Pads a,b,c and d for easy reference... where do the impedance and calibration lines go?

gap source

If you have HFSS_9 you can use a driven terminal solution method.
Go to the **broken link removed** and you'll find many examples in the folder Reviews and News.

lumped ports silicon substrate

Thanks, but i have looked at some of the articles but i couldnt find any description on how to define a port..

I'm using HFSS 8.5 and i believe there is a choice of eigenmode or driven solution.. i chose driven.

So far i have been getting an error message that the port is not defined correctly as the conductors are shorted.. the pictures show how i assigned the T, C and I lines (Terminal, Calibration and Impedance).. can someone comment on this assignment?

hfss coplanar lumped-gap port

Hi,
for your model
I would draw a rectangle between the
terminal a and b and a rectangle between terminal c and d