Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Help with VHDL code for SPI interface on Xilinx Spartan 3A

Status
Not open for further replies.

ptjw

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello all, i have with me a spartan 3 starter board that has 4 LEDs and 4 capacitive touch pads that can be interfaced with. i have an upcoming project that would use the spartan 3A FPGA and i figured this starter board would be a good place for me to start as i have no experience with FPGAs and VHDL programming.

i intended to program the FPGA to read a text file from the PC. this text file holds instructions that control which button activates which LED on the board. the contents of the text file is as shown here:

led_1 : push_A
led_2 : push_C
led_3 : push_B
led_4 : push_D

meaning button A would toggle LED1, button C would toggle LED2 and so on.

i would then check the values of the strings i collected from the textfile and assign them to their respective buttons.

i managed to read the textfile from the PC, but i have been having big problems with the ISE Project Navigator (version 12.1) as the compiler keeps cutting away the strings that i use to store the data. my code is shown here:

Code:
architecture Behavioral of switch_port is

shared variable copy1: string(6 downto 1):= "      ";
	shared variable copy2: string(6 downto 1):= "      ";
	shared variable copy3: string(6 downto 1):= "      ";
	shared variable copy4: string(6 downto 1):= "      ";
	shared variable gate : boolean := false;
	file textfile : text;

begin

readprocess:
process(clock)

variable l: line;
	variable s: string(14 downto 1);