Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HELP WITH LED MESSAGE BOARD (8X64) using ATmega16L micro-controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

codename25

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
HI all,
I'm planning to build an LED message board with 8X64 led. I'm planning it to do with ATmega16 (Since i have one with me). I'm a beginner in both micro-controller and C program. So, I need all of your generous and valuable help, also this might be helpful for others who are in same situation.

I'll explain my current situation. I want to do the whole 8X64 led project by one Atmega16. Since, It has only 4 ports with 8 pins each. It's impossible to connect all these 64 column pins with the micro-controller ( From four i need one whole port for row execution). So, i decided to use decade counters(CD 4017), each CD 4017 gives me 8 pins of output (to columns) by only giving an input clock from the micro-controller. If you see the circuit & program you can easily understand what i mean. Now my problem is:

1) I don't know whether the program is correct or not (or even don't know whether it works well as expected).

2) I don't know whether the circuit is correct or not.

3) What all should i include or modify my program to make the message in the display scroll.

I haven't started the hardware section of the project till now. since, it needs lot of LEDs and effort, I just thought of starting it only if the circuit and the program works theoretically well.

Now, I need the help from you people to solve this issue and help me to complete and succeed in this project.

Thank You.