Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with flyback smps

Status
Not open for further replies.

vantusaonho

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!
I am a newbie in smps, I making a smps with input 33VDC, output 12VDC 1A using UC3842. It work but there are some problem:
- The mosfet, and diode D1 overheat. I dont understand what happen. Please explain to me. This is schematic

schematic.jpg

The flyback transformer use EE25 with air-gap 0.25mm, primary winding is wouned first with 15 turns 2x wire 0.4mm,cover 1/2 length of bobbin, bias windings is wounded next with 8 turns wire 0.3mm, and last secondary windings with 6 turns 2x wire 0.4mm. Bias and secondary windings cover the rest of space bobbin. All windings are wounded as clockwise.

P/s I have a question that if air -gap of transformer is larger, the leakage inductance will be high?
Thanks in advance

The mosfet, and diode D1 overheat.

You are drawing 1A output. The diode D1 is carrying 1A average. This is sufficient to make it too hot to touch, even though it is rated for 2A (your schematic shows it is an FR207).

It would run cooler if its leads could dissipate the heat to a heatsink, or some substantial piece of metal, or wire, etc.

It is important that the mosfet turn fully on and fully off. Its resistance should alternate between very high and very low. That is the only way it can run without dissipating heat. If it spends much time at a midway resistance, then it is wasting power needlessly.

Can you verify that the mosfet is turning fully off and fully on?