Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help understanding a few basic electronics questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ulnarian

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey all, I am an extreme beginner to electronics. Anyways, I came across the following schematic and I have a few questions regarding it:

555 Circuit.JPG

First off, C=Capacitor and R=Resistor (sorry for the crappy diagram :( )

Anyways, this is a circuit which creates a flashing LED.

My questions are this:

1) Why isn't the LED always on? Does the capacitor block the current flow as it charges? If so, what causes the capacitor to discharge? Does it discharge because the supply voltage is brought low when the capacitor is charged triggering the output of the 555?

2) My book says that R1 and R2 control the timing and duration of the flashes. However, why is it necessary to have two resistors here, wouldn't one work just as well?

3) As I understand it, current flows from the positive to the negative, if this is the case, then what happens when the current flowing from the positive terminal of the battery through R3 smacks head on with the current coming out of the output pin (pin 3).

Thanks!

Attachments

• 555 Circuit.JPG
    555 Circuit.JPG
    52.7 KB · Views: 186

Some circuits are not always as simple as they may appear at first look. Difficult to learn about 555 serie circuits reading datasheets…:cool:
To get some basic idea about the 555 circuits see for example this site:

555 Timer Tutorials