Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help needed with PIC18F4520

Status
Not open for further replies.

fantech

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi!
I'm new here and this is my first post, and I'm asking for some help.
I'm not really experienced with microcontrollers as it's not really my field of work. However, I need to use it in one of my projects, so I've had to learn bits of it.

So, my basic goal is that : I have 2 voltages, that vary from 3.5 V to 0.3 V each. I need to light up a LED whenever one of them falls below a certain voltage (about 1.2V). I'm using the PIC18F4520. I also understand that a whole micro controller is not required for such a trivial operation, however I've been told to use it by my professor, and so I have to.

Here's what I came up with:
Code:
#include<htc.h>
#include<pic18f4520.h>

void main()
{
           float vol;
           TRISA = 0xFF; //input
           TRISB = 0; //output
           PORTB = 0;
           ADCON1 = 0b00001101; //AN0 and AN1 are analog rest digital
           ADCON0 = 0b00000000;
           ADCON2 = 0b10001000; //Right Justified, 2TAD, FOSC/2
           ADCON0bits.ADON = 1; //module on
           while(1)
           {
                      ADCON0bits.GO = 1; //conversion start
                      while(ADCON0bits.GO != 0); //loop till end of conversion
                      vol = ((ADRES*256) + ADRESL) * 0.00489; //conversion to volts
                      if(vol < 1.2)
                              PORTBbits.RB0 = 1;    //i dont want the leds to switch off after this

ADCON0 = 0b00000100; // AN1 channel