Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help need regarding PWM(PIC16f877a)

Status
Not open for further replies.

2xling

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
pwm pic16f877a

Hi all,
I am a complete newbie in pic...and i need help desperately in interpreting the data sheet. What do they mean by (CCPR1L:CCP1CON <5:4>) in the equation PWM Duty Cycle = (CCPR1L:CCP1CON <5:4>).TOSC.(TMR2 Prescale Value). Is it possible to give me an example on how to use the equation? and for the PWM Period given in the data sheet the unit is in seconds?

When the servo motor data sheet says that it need a pulse duration from 0.9mS to 2.1mS with 1.5mS as center. What does it mean?

pic pr2 calculation timer

The colon ":" between CCPR1L and CCP1CON <5:4> is used as a separator for an easy interpreting of data format.
<5:4> means the bit 5 and bit 4 of the CCP1CON register (which has a size of 8 bits)
Thus expression CCPR1L:CCP1CON <5:4> means 8 bits (MostSignificantBits) of CCPR1L concatenated with 2 bits (LeastSignificantBits) of CCP1CON for building a 10 bit register.
It's exactly the PWM 10-bit resolution.
A PWM output has a time base (period) and a time that the output stays high (duty cycle).
For your servo motor the period is 3ms.
The pulse duration is the time during the output (CCP1 pin) stays high (duty cycle).
So for a pulse duration of 0,9ms, the output stays high 0,9ms then low 2,1ms again high 0,9ms then low 2,1 ms and so on...
For a pulse duration of 2,1ms, the output stays high 2,1ms, then low for 0,9ms, again high for 2,1ms and so on...