Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me with designing a circuit to convert AC to DC signals

Status
Not open for further replies.

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
ac to dc

hi friends
i want to design a simple circuit to convert AC signal source into a DC output signal of 5 volts cause i want to measure its amplitude with an ADC . the ac input signal can be square ,triangular, sine etc...i mean generalized one.

thanks
with best regards
amit
 

v_c

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
511
Helped
113
Reputation
226
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chicago, IL, USA
Activity points
8,224
Re: ac to dc

What you need is a full bridge rectifier followed by a capacitor to give you the dc.
Take a look here for the structure Bridge Rectifier

You may not need the transformer if your ac signal not too high in amplitude. Once you rectify the waveform (put all the negative regions to be positive), the waveforms looks like bunch of M's (like the M in McDonald's signs). Assuming the ac waveform has an amplitude of \[V_m\], the average value of this rectified waveform will be \[2 V_m/\pi\], assuming the diode drops are negligible. So when you filter this rectified voltage, the dc voltage should be around this value. So knowing the dc value you can infer what the amplitude of the ac waveform. If there is a transformer used, you also have to take into account the turns ratio. If you used a 10:1 transformer, then your rectified waveform would be 1/10 of the magnitude of the original waveform, so when you calculate the amplitude of the original waveform just multiply by 10.

Best regards,
v_c
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
Re: ac to dc

please provide me the circuit daigram cant understand without it.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,929
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
Re: ac to dc

Another option of measuring AC voltage is to feed it to a voltage divider followed by a peak detector and "scale" the whole circuit in such a way that the output is in the 0-5V range..
See examples of circuits here:



Regards,
IanP
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
ac to dc

Thanks for replying everyone. Ianp the links and idea is really very useful, but i just want to ask will this idea provide me a "True RMS" reading?

Thanks once again,
With best regards,
Amit
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,929
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
Re: ac to dc

In theory, if you know the "shape" of the signal, you can apply formulas which link peak values with RMS values ..
In practice, a sine wave is never "pure" sine wave, so for exact measurements of RMS values it is better, but more expensive, to use RMS-DC converters (example: https://www.linear.com/pc/downloadDocument.do?navId=H0,C1,C1154,C1086,D4563 ) ..

Regards,
IanP
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
ac to dc

right. that's what i was thinking of. is there any other method which i can use, if waveform shape is unknown to me. i mean without "linear" IC's, if there could be some technique which does this by using simpler ICs, opamps etc.

Added after 4 hours 13 minutes:

and just for a thought, after seeing the diagram ofin the 2nd link, should there be a buffer stage between resistor divider network and LF353?
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,319
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
84
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,401
Re: ac to dc

garg29,
An RMS Converter IC such as the Analog devices AD737 will convert any arbitrary waveform into a DC voltage that is proportional to the True RMS value of the input. A precision rectifier, followed by a low pass filter will convert any arbitrary waveform into a DC voltage that is proportional to the average value of the input.
Regards,
Kral
 

    garg29

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
ac to dc

Thanks a lot kral for the solution. I'll try to do that.
 

lats

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
216
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,945
Re: ac to dc

hi kral
can u please provide the circuit daigram of low pass filter which u

suggested for the above application. i will be thankful to u.
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
ac to dc

hi ianp
the circuit of peak detector which u said is now working fine at low voltages but for high voltage like 380volts rms ac ,the circuit shows 426volts rms and also there is fluctuation. i think it is because of harmonics/noise .how can i suppress them and make my circuit work acuurate for high voltages...please help me out
 

sivani_vs

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
31
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,530
Re: ac to dc

U can use a full wave rectifier. Its better to use more number of stages in the filter, sothat the repple factor will be less.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,929
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
Re: ac to dc

Because you are dealing with the mains voltage (50Hz) you may try a filter with as low corner frequency as 100Hz ..
Initially you can try simple RC filter with R=1kΩ and C=1.6µF but it will "decrease" the voltage at 50Hz to ≈75% ..
Finally you can build 2-nd order active filter with 0dB gain and, to make life easier, you can use this tool from AD: **broken link removed**

Regards,
IanP
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,319
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
84
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,401
Re: ac to dc

lats,
If you use the precision rectifier shown in figure 4 at
~
h**p://sound.westhost.com/appnotes/an001.htm,
~
then simply connect a capacitor in parallel with the feedback resistor R5. Select the value such that R5 X C is muchh longer thatn the period of the AC waveform. For example for 50 Hz, (period = .02 Seconds), a capacitor value of 100uF would work. This gives a time constant of 100X the period. You can reduce the capacitance value by scaling the resistor values up. By using 200K resistors, you could reduce thae capacitance to 10uF. The value depends on how much ripple that you can tolerate in the output.
Regards,
Kral.
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
Re: ac to dc

hi kral i tried the circuit on a simulator ,the output m getting is a full wave. can i feed this to pic adc directly? the picture is attached along with the output wave form.
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,319
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
84
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,401
Re: ac to dc

garg29,
I'm not failiar with the pic ADC In general, an ADC requires the input to be sampled, so that the input to the ADC proper remains constant during the conversion. The output of the precision rectifier should be filtered before it is applied to the ADC. Otherwise, you would get different answers depending on what part of the waveform was sampled prior to the conversion.
Regards,
Kral
 

arul_81284

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,331
ac to dc

I need your help.. can anybody give me the design of the circuit for thyristor rectifier
 

rajasekaranma

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,306
Re: ac to dc

normally we are use 5v regulation voltage by 7805
is there any ic instead of 7805?
 

zenisle

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 11, 2005
Messages
127
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,987
ac to dc

AC-DC is mainly in power managment domain.
 

yousafzai

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
242
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,295
Re: ac to dc

AD536 is an excellent AC-DC converter which is easy to use.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top