Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me start learning DSP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: HOW I CAN START DSP

Found a book from this forum, and try www.octave.org, an open source MATLAB clone.

Start by refresing your math. Think of interesting project to work with. Get yourself a DSP kit.

JaaC

HOW I CAN START DSP

I am a beginner studying DSP, I want to know how to start or what I can understand?
now, I am designing a lab-board ,but I don't know what my board should have?
can you give me some advice?

Jackwang said:
I am a beginner studying DSP, I want to know how to start or what I can understand?
now, I am designing a lab-board ,but I don't know what my board should have?
can you give me some advice?

What are your interests? For general purpose, audio/speech processing is a good starting point. Build a board with a DSP chip, the simplest the chip, the better. ADSP-218x is a nice example. Add a 16 bit audio codec. It would be nice if you can reprogramm your DSP easily, so flash memory of other sort of boot up method is recommended. In our ADSP-218xN DSPKit we implement IDMA for DSP programming and readback, so the Dsp can be reprogrammed over and over again, easily and quickly. Thats a nice feature for experimenting, since you'd want to change the programm being ran by the DSP rather frequently. Some LEDs for flagging and some pushbuttons for interaction are fine. Also interesting would be to bring the important signals of the DSP out to expansion connectors, for playin around with external circuitry.

Hope this helps,

JaaC