Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Help me select FPGA for implementing graphic primitives on it

Status
Not open for further replies.

honnaraj.t

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
48
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,725
hi ,
last week i join in MNC, they told implement the graphic primitives on fpga... basically graphic primitives are implemented in sotware in graphics.. but inorder increase the speed and fuctionality of the graphic processor...we are implementing these on FPGA. problem is just now i finished my M.TECH.. i am not getting HOW TO select FPGA .HOW TO CREATE BLOCK DIAGRAM FOR MY PROJECT. PLEASE HELP REGARDING THIS PROJECT
 

ship_baba

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
70
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,592
Re: FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

hi dude,

from which university, did you finished M.TECH,don't tell IIT or IISc or BITS


regards,

sam
 

darylz

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Messages
129
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,975
FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

Do you have any idea about your design?

1. How big is the logic?
2. How much on-chip memory is required?
3. Do you need off-chip memory? What's the type? SRAM/SDRAM/DDR/DDR2/RLDRAM..
4. How many pins are needed?
5. What's the IO standard?
 

tayyeb1

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,313
Re: FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

You never just start with FPGA.First you design the algorithm.then test it using some simulator(matlab etc).Then you start converting it in digital hardware.Then you compare the HDL simulation results with matlab results.Once successful,It s time to choose your FPGA according to design constraints.

Understood......
 

shield

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
30
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,446
FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

how to start a design is a big problem for the newer. Who can give some suggestion?
 

mta97e

Member level 1
Joined
Aug 14, 2007
Messages
37
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,543
Re: FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

look at the appropriate application notes from the vendor website.... i believe is the fastest way to pick up things..

both altera and xilinx provides good materials on their websites..

get a development board and try out the application notes .... and VOLA ... u will become a guru in no time..

seriously ...

there are 100s of appliccation notes ...
 

fpga_user

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,296
FPGA IMPLEMENTATION

Hi,

I'm a begginer in FPGA and I want to programm a PID control
with VHDL for a DC-DC buck converter.

I have Spartan-3E Starter Kit (XC3S500E-FG320-4c)
and ISE8.1.

1)I need to read 2 analog signals, voltage and current
This kit have a dual gain amplifiers and 2 simultaneous
sampling ADC.

2)I'll generate a PWM output signal, which is a function
of the first 2 signals.

I saw a PicoBlaze ADC file, but how can use this application
or how can to modify this code to my application???

Can you give me some help how to handle an input signal
to create an output that I can use in my vhdl code.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top