Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me get parts and build a fm transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

antaean3000

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
fm transmitter

I am from the uk and i have never done electronics before however i have someone who can help teach me how to solder and use the components.

What i want is to build a fm transmitter about 1watt or maybe even 5 watt
ideally i would like to buy one but some places sell them they are £500 i figured it would be cheaper better and more fun to build your own.

I look at schematics like this one
Circuit-diagram-500mW-FM-PLL-transmitter-88-108MHz.gif

and i don't even know how to understand them let alone where to get the parts.

Any help or tips on where to start or how to find the parts would be cool.

fm transmitter

It is illegal to use such a high power transmitter without a licence. The licence will specify the type of programs you can play and the frequency you can use if a frequency is available.

The transmitter must be certified not to cause interference.
This simple circuit will probably cause interference to real radio and TV stations.

It doesn't have pre-emphasis so it will sound awful on an FM radio.

Re: fm transmitter

Audioguru said:
It is illegal to use such a high power transmitter without a licence. The licence will specify the type of programs you can play and the frequency you can use if a frequency is available.

The transmitter must be certified not to cause interference.
This simple circuit will probably cause interference to real radio and TV stations.