Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me choose a microcontroller to interface temperature sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

electronics_guy

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie.... can i use PIC16F877A micro controller to interface a temperature sensor? Or should i go for PIC18F series? Please help...... and also what kind of sensors does PIC16F877A microcontroller support?

Thanks in advance

The 18F series is more 'modern' than the 16F series, and more powerful (memory, speed, features), but the 16F877A is still a very useful chip. Personally I would say to use the 18F series unless you happen to already have a16F877A. If it does what you need, there's little reason not to use it.

Both 16F and 18F PIC's can interface with the same types of sensor - both have analogue inputs and digital I/O's, serial ports, PWM, timers etc. The 18F adds the occasional extra feature, like the odd motor controller PWM units and quadrature decoders. It tends to be a case of 'does this PIC have enough input/output pins for the job." That depends on how many things you want to interface.

To give you an example, I've been designing a project that uses a lot of digital I/O, PWM, UART, SPI to multiple other chips, display interface, quadrature, but no analogue. The design has gone from a PIC18F4431 (because it had all of the above, and just enough I/O pins for everything) to a dsPIC30F4011, because I ran out of program ROM in the 4431.