Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me build a SSB modulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

epilot

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello there,

i want to build a SSB modulator to modulate a carrier at 40kHz with an audio,

what the best choise is please?

it has to be SSB so i am not sure if i can find something to make a SSB or i have to make a circuit as AM or DSB and then use from filters to remove part of band?

sorry i am new in the modulation and need for help.

Thanks

Re: AM

Here is how you do it at higher frequencies:

**broken link removed**

I imagine you can do a similar thing at 40 KHz with op amps and analog multipliers. The box with the "X" in it in the center is a 0/180 degree hybrid, which can be done with 2 op amps of gain 1 and -1. The 0/90 degree splitter can be done with a resistive splitter and a 90 degree LC phase lag circuit (or an RC op amp circuit). Mixers (circles with the "X"s in them) can be analog multipliers. Power combiner at output can be one summing op amp.

biff44 said:
Here is how you do it at higher frequencies:

h**p://www.polyphasemicrowave.com/pages/single-sideband_modulator.html

I imagine you can do a similar thing at 40 KHz with op amps and analog multipliers. The box with the "X" in it in the center is a 0/180 degree hybrid, which can be done with 2 op amps of gain 1 and -1. The 0/90 degree splitter can be done with a resistive splitter and a 90 degree LC phase lag circuit (or an RC op amp circuit). Mixers (circles with the "X"s in them) can be analog multipliers. Power combiner at output can be one summing op amp.