Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help in finding a miniature distance sensor with high precision

Status
Not open for further replies.

HeavyRain

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I am a novice in electronics and I need your help, if possible, in choosing a miniature distance sensor having a good accuracy (less than 1 mm) for measuring a distance that does not exceed 40 cm. It would be better if we could get the sensor data using a USB connection, wifi link, or even bluetooth link.

Thank you in advance for your help

To get accuracy within 1mm, consider an optical method.
Examples, (a) how many led's are covered/uncovered, (b) stereoscopic imaging.

Ultrasonic range-finding will be very difficult to make reliable.

To send data via computer communications, you'll need skill with a microcontroller and a knowledge of the protocol.

To get accuracy within 1mm, consider an optical method.
Examples, (a) how many led's are covered/uncovered, (b) stereoscopic imaging.

Ultrasonic range-finding will be very difficult to make reliable.

To send data via computer communications, you'll need skill with a microcontroller and a knowledge of the protocol.

Thank you for your response.

you can use a infrared sensor. i'm used one seria of sharp. and it can measur to 80cm. you need a microcontroler and modul wifi for microcontroler.

For high accuracy less than 7 cm distance take a look at this new component from TI:
**broken link removed**