Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help for design dimmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

ababakz

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
21
I want to Design a 3KW smart lighting dimmer for poultry .
when I try to use zero cross detection , Lamps start blinking at very low light .
Could I change 220v ac to the DC and use Microcontrollers PWM for switching rectified voltage with any semiconductor device ?
Is any way else ?
 

Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
You can dim halogen lamps, most LED lamps and fluorescent lamps aren't dim-able.
Because lamps are resistive load you don't really need zero crossing.
The common dimmer with triac isn't a bad choice.
Are you trying to create a romantic atmosphere for the hens? Have you got a French rooster? :)
 

ababakz

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
21
I want to dim simple Incandescent light bulb (filament) . for simulating day light I have to decries lamps light and at the lowest light , lamp start blinking . How could I fix this ?
I don't saw a commercial dimmer yet . And I don't know which method I have to use for this project .
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
19,486
Helped
4,308
Reputation
8,621
Reaction score
4,262
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
129,196
Hi,

for a triac dimmer you need a zero cross detection. Wit standard dimmer circuits this is managed by R, C and diac.

************
So you say it is blinking. Then you should have a circuit.
Show us your schematic. (I think this is the most used sentence here).
Without your schematic it is impossible to see where the blinking comes from.
Usually a dimmer can work without blinking.
************
For sure you can use other circuits for dimming lamps.

************
Is it alowed in your country to dim (with triac) that heavy loads?
If i remember right it is not alowed in germany´s public electric supply mains.

************

if this is not a single lamp, you can use multiple dimmers with lighter (allowed) load.
Just control one channel 0..100% then the other and so on until all are 100%.

Klaus
 

ababakz

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
21
Thanks for help
Could I do something like this ? not exactly of course !
IGBT driver other components doesn't placed yet .


- - - Updated - - -

Sorry for incorrect link for scheme.

scheme.JPG
 

Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
Thanks for help
Could I do something like this ? not exactly of course !
IGBT driver other components doesn't placed yet .

This idea can work but it needs some improvements.
Pin 3 of LCD must have a 1K variable resistor to ground.
The gate of the IGBT must have a gate driver that can drive the gate with 10V to 20V.
There must be isolation in the gate drive by means of transformer or opto-coupler.
You can copy some ideas from milan.rajik post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top