Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help!! 8051 family controller beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

UroBoros

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
family controller

hello
I am a beginner to 8051 family of controllers.Presently I am doing Projects on PIC only. I would like to start my work on Intel family also.I am confused with a lot of versions.Kindly guide me with a suitable controller to start with. Also provide me some links to suitable IDEs and programmer to start with. I am doing development in assembly only for now. So C levels may not be comfortable for me.

80c51 beginner

Salam,

Many of companys now fabricate uC based on 80C51 architecture Intel, Atmel, Dallas ....

The most famous uC is ATMEL AT89CXXXX series.

You can start with AT89S51 (4k flash) or AT89S52(8k flash)
Both of them are ISP (In System Programble) so you can easy program them using a Cable(DB25) with buffer (Search EDABoard for AT89S ISP Programmer)

For a good tutorial and many resources go to
www.8052.com

Assembler ASEM51, It's good.

Simulator and Debugger Pinnacle52

I will send you the links for the above soft later.

Eng. Amr Ahmed

instructions to work in pinnacle52 ide

start with 8051(80C51) which has following config.
>>16 bit addressbus
>>8 bit data bus
>>4 IO ports
>>4K internal ROM
>>128 bytes RAM

Refer: 8051 Micro-Controller by KENNETH AYALA
& also INTEL MANUAL available on the Intel
Website

The 51 cpu evolved from the original 31 the first microcontroller .