Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

harvard or von neumann

Status
Not open for further replies.

toomosta

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
HI,
I know that this may be a silly question but i am new at computer architecture.
This image is for a single cycle MIPS processor i see that it has a data memory and instruction memory, do that it is harvard architecture ; because i read on the internet that mips is von neumann,
it's confusing.

mipshn.png

HI,
I know that this may be a silly question but i am new at computer architecture.
This image is for a single cycle MIPS processor i see that it has a data memory and instruction memory, do that it is harvard architecture ; because i read on the internet that mips is von neumann,
it's confusing.

While questions concerning processor architecture are far from silly, there is no clear question in your initial post.

Please state your question in a clear concise manner.

BigDog

The question is the MIPS processor (it's image shown ) harvard or von neumann ?

The question is the MIPS processor (it's image shown ) harvard or von neumann ?

Unfortunately, as often is the case and as technology progresses, the previously clear lines relegating a processor's architecture into either the Harvard or Von Neumann class have become blurred.

Many current processor designs blend these two distinct architectures to form a hybrid of sorts, such in the case with the Harvard Architecture, as it has evolved from a "pure" Harvard to a "modified" Harvard Architecture:

Harvard Architecture

Modified Harvard Architecture