Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hardware Lock(USB dongle) for a particular S/W

Status
Not open for further replies.

pks3kor

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,315
softice dongle

Hi,
Can anybody tell me, how to break the Hardware lock of a partcular software?
I mean,is it possible to run a particular software without having Hardware lock(Hardware dongle)?

Thanks
 

kvingle

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
244
Helped
33
Reputation
66
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India.
Activity points
2,574
break hardware lock

Yes. It is possible and illegal.:cry:
 

pks3kor

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,315
usb dongle lock

Hi There,
Could you please tell me how to do it??

Thanks in Advance
 

kvingle

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
244
Helped
33
Reputation
66
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India.
Activity points
2,574
how to break hardware lock

i am sorry, friend. This is not a hacking/cracking forum...
you need reverse engineering tools.[ and some (soft)ICE]
Why don't you google somewhere else....
regards....
 

mouzid

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
249
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,876
hardware lock usb or emulate

kvingle said:
i am sorry, friend. This is not a hacking/cracking forum...
you need reverse engineering tools.[ and some (soft)ICE]
Why don't you google somewhere else....
regards....
Yes.
The only think that I can tell U is that there is some tools that emulate the USB Key.
Bye.
 

sebastienbilodeau

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,290
dongle lock

The Dongle *may* or may not contain code that is necessary for the application to run properly. That means that the application may:

- check to see if the dongle is there. If so, run properly.
OR
- read a small part of the application, stocked inside the dongle.
That way, without the dongle you have an incomplete application.

If it's only to check for the presence of the dongle, you may find a generic patch on the internet if the application is very popular. Otherwise, you may use a debugging software such as Win Ice (Soft Ice) or WinDBG.

A debugging application will let you stop at a specific point in the application (for instance, when you get the error message that the dongle is absent!) and look step by step how the program got there. This requires some Assembly Language knowledge.

You can find some Soft Ice tutorials attached, and one specially for dongles.

Good luck!
Sebastien
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top