Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Guitar - Photodiode Amplifier, Signal-to-Noise ratio

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yarrrrr

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, my first time posting here. I am a beginner at electronics.

I am building an optical guitar pickup, infrared diodes bouncing light onto the guitar strings back to photodiodes.

The circuit works but the signal to noise ratio makes it unusable, the latest design attempt uses parallel amplifiers with the hope of reducing noise but that didn't help at all. The final mounted part is wrapped in copper tape and grounded to shield from outside noise.

Components:

The op-amps are NE5532

IR Diode - TSUS5202
Photodiode - WL-TDRB Series

I'll attach schematics and a sound example of the current output.

Maybe there is some glaring mistake in there somewhere.

Audio:

schematic.PNG
circuitboard.jpg
pickup.jpg

Last edited:

1) You don't show what opamps you are using. Are they low noise? You've got a gain of 4000, and you're multiplying the uncorrelated noise by 2000 (if my calculation is right).
2) It sound's like you've got wideband noise, not hum (which shielding would take care of.) How much noise do the photodiodes generate? How about the infrared diodes? How about the power supply (which you don't show).
3) Does your PCB have a ground plane?

The amount of IR reflected from a guitar string is extremely low, the photo-diodes are used as tiny low output solar cells feeding a very low resistance then the high voltage gain of your opamps amplifies their noise.