Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] guide for install ic610 on Ubuntu 10.04

Status
Not open for further replies.

jxyang1005

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
8
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hefei,Anhui,China
Activity points
1,628
Ic610 install
Ihave succeeded in installing IC610 on Ubuntu 10.04 using the Vmware virtual machine and Scientific Linux in 32 bit mode from the original cd media without any modification to the installation script of ic610.
This is how i have done. it is very lengthy and hence i am calling it dummy's installation guide. the reapply or inputs are in bold.
Jiang Xiangyang

1 Before the installtion the follow steps must be done。
1) Install Ubuntu 10.04 on you personal PC.
2) Extract IC610_lnx86.Base in anywhere you like such as /opt/IC610_lnx86.Base/ CDROM1 to CDROM5
3) Extract mmsim610 in /opt/mmsim610/CDROM1 to CDROM3
4) Open a c shell command terminal in /root/,and install the following package
sudo apt-get install libelf1
sudo apt-get install ksh
sudo apt-get install nscd
sudo apt-get install policykit
sudo apt-get install ureadahead
sudo apt-get install csh
5)mke up some necessary links
sudo ln -s /usr/bin/awk /bin/awk
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2
sudo ln -s /usr/bin/firefox /usr/bin/netscape #in order to using Cadence help,you can using mozilla instead of Netscape
sudo ln -s /bin/gunzip /bin/uncompress
6)make new folder tmp
sudo mkdir /usr/tmp
sudo chown eda /usr/tmp
sudo chmod 755 /usr/tmp

7)config /etc/X11/xorg.conf
gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
in the end add
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection
8)restart
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install libelf1
[sudo] password for eda:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
libelf1 is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install ksh
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
ksh
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
Need to get 1,359kB of archives.
After this operation, 2,802kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe ksh 93t+-2 [1,359kB]
Fetched 1,359kB in 6s (197kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package ksh.
(Reading database ... 127375 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking ksh (from .../archives/ksh_93t+-2_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Setting up ksh (93t+-2) ...
update-alternatives: using /bin/ksh93 to provide /bin/ksh (ksh) in auto mode.

eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install nscd
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
nscd
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
Need to get 204kB of archives.
After this operation, 377kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid-updates/universe nscd 2.11.1-0ubuntu7.8 [204kB]
Fetched 204kB in 7s (26.0kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package nscd.
(Reading database ... 127396 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking nscd (from .../nscd_2.11.1-0ubuntu7.8_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Processing triggers for ureadahead ...
ureadahead will be reprofiled on next reboot
Setting up nscd (2.11.1-0ubuntu7.8) ...
* Starting Name Service Cache Daemon nscd [ OK ]

eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install policykit
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libpolkit-dbus2 libpolkit-grant2 libpolkit2
Suggested packages:
policykit-gnome
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libpolkit-dbus2 libpolkit-grant2 libpolkit2 policykit
0 upgraded, 4 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
Need to get 212kB of archives.
After this operation, 1,065kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
Get:1 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe libpolkit2 0.9-4ubuntu2 [105kB]
Get:2 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe libpolkit-dbus2 0.9-4ubuntu2 [22.6kB]
Get:3 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe libpolkit-grant2 0.9-4ubuntu2 [19.4kB]
Get:4 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe policykit 0.9-4ubuntu2 [64.8kB]
Fetched 212kB in 3s (59.2kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package libpolkit2.
(Reading database ... 127407 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking libpolkit2 (from .../libpolkit2_0.9-4ubuntu2_i386.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package libpolkit-dbus2.
Unpacking libpolkit-dbus2 (from .../libpolkit-dbus2_0.9-4ubuntu2_i386.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package libpolkit-grant2.
Unpacking libpolkit-grant2 (from .../libpolkit-grant2_0.9-4ubuntu2_i386.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package policykit.
Unpacking policykit (from .../policykit_0.9-4ubuntu2_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Processing triggers for ureadahead ...
Setting up libpolkit2 (0.9-4ubuntu2) ...

Setting up libpolkit-dbus2 (0.9-4ubuntu2) ...

Setting up libpolkit-grant2 (0.9-4ubuntu2) ...

Setting up policykit (0.9-4ubuntu2) ...

Processing triggers for libc-bin ...
ldconfig deferred processing now taking place
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install ureadahead
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
ureadahead is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install csh
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
csh
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 32 not upgraded.
Need to get 253kB of archives.
After this operation, 414kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 Index of /ubuntu/ lucid/universe csh 20070713-2ubuntu1 [253kB]
Fetched 253kB in 2s (105kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package csh.
(Reading database ... 127474 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking csh (from .../csh_20070713-2ubuntu1_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Processing triggers for doc-base ...
Processing 1 added doc-base file(s)...
Registering documents with scrollkeeper...
Setting up csh (20070713-2ubuntu1) ...
update-alternatives: using /bin/bsd-csh to provide /bin/csh (csh) in auto mode.

eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo ln -s /usr/bin/awk /bin/awk
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo ln -s /usr/bin/firefox /usr/bin/mozilla
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo ln -s /bin/gunzip /bin/uncompress
ln: creating symbolic link `/bin/uncompress': File exists
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo mkdir /usr/tmp
eda@eda-laptop:~$
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo chown eda /usr/tmp
eda@eda-laptop:~$ sudo chmod 755 /usr/tmp
2 Cadence install
mkdir /home/eda /edatools
mkdir /home/ eda /edatools/ic610
mkdir /home/ eda/edatools/installscape
mkdir /home/ eda /edatools/mmsim610
chmod -R 777 /home/ eda /edatools

eda@eda-laptop:~$ su
Password:
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# mkdir /home/eda/edatools
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# mkdir /home/eda/edatools/ic610
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# mkdir /home/eda/edatools/installscape
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# mkdir /home/eda/edatools/mmsim610
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# chmod -R 777 /home/eda/edatools
root@eda-laptop:/home/eda# cd /home/eda/
eda@eda-laptop:~$ cd /home/eda/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1
eda@eda-laptop:~/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1$ ls
Base_IC610_lnx86.sdp IMAGES.DIR n sl2iswrap_lnx86_converted.zip
Base_IC610_lnx86.sdx INSTALL.HTML README
ic610 installscape READMES
ic_index.sdx MEDIA1.TXT SETUP.SH
eda@eda-laptop:~/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1$ ./SETUP.SH


Copyright 1985-2006 by Cadence Design Systems Inc.

LICENSED SOFTWARE - REVERSE ASSEMBLY, REVERSE COMPILATION AND
REVERSE ENGINEERING PROHIBITED. The information contained in
this package is the proprietary property of Cadence Design Systems,
Inc., or its licensors, and may only be used in accordance with
the Cadence Design Systems license agreement under which this
package is provided.

Restricted Rights Notice to Government Users

Use duplication or disclosure by the Government is subject to
the restrictions as set forth in subparagraphs (c)(1)(ii) of the
Rights in Technical Data and Computer Software clause at
DFARS 252.227-7013. Unpublished - all rights reserved under the
copyright laws of the United States.

Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
555 River Oaks Parkway
San Jose, California 95134 USA

--More—
Press Enter
Located CDROM at /home/eda/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1

Specify path of install directory [OR type [RETURN] to exit]: /home/eda/edatools/ic610
Detecting InstallScape for lnx86...
Checking InstallScape on media...

Could not detect an InstallScape for lnx86 platform using the PATH environment variable


It is a good idea to have only one Installation of InstallScape
for lnx86 platform. If an InstallScape installation exists
please help us find it.

Do you have InstallScape for lnx86 platform installed somewhere [y/n]? n
You are on lnx86 platform
InstallScape version 03.40.p06
for platform lnx86
is available on this CD.

Do you want to install InstallScape for lnx86[y/n]:y

It is recommended that you install InstallScape
outside the Cadence installation hierarchy
and include the ~iscape/bin in your PATH environment variable.


Type the path to InstallScape installation directory [ (q to quit)]: /home/eda/edatools/installscape

InstallScape installation directory: /home/eda/edatools/installscape

Extracting InstallScape version 03.40.p06
for platform lnx86 in /home/eda/edatools/installscape


Starting up InstallScape in GUI mode

DISPLAY environment variable is set to :0.0

If you do not see the InstallScape console
window or the it seems to be hanging then kill this
process.

Set your DISPLAY environment variable to a proper
value and manually start InstallScape by typing:
/home/eda/edatools/installscape/iscape/bin/iscape.sh /home/eda/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1:::/home/eda/edatools/ic610

Initializing InstallScape using JVM at /home/eda/edatools/installscape/iscape/runtime/LNX86/bin/java. This might take some time...









3 config OpenAccess
eda@eda-laptop:~/share/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1$ cd /home/eda/edatools/installscape/
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape$ ls
data iscape
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape$ cd iscape/
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape/iscape$ ls
bin docs lib MANIFEST.lnx86 README runtime VERSION.lnx86
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape/iscape$ cd bin/
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape/iscape/bin$ ls
iscape.exe iscape.sh sl2kti.pl
eda@eda-laptop:~/edatools/installscape/iscape/bin$ ./iscape.sh
Initializing InstallScape using JVM at /home/eda/edatools/installscape/iscape/runtime/LNX86/bin/java. This might take some time...
Use -help option for details on usage....













4 Modify cdsinit
Copy ic610/tools/dfII/samples/local to ic610/tools/dfII/——rename local/cdsinit to .cdsinit
sudo cp -r /home/eda/edatools/ic610/tools/dfII/samples/local /home/eda/edatools/ic610/tools/dfII/
sudo mv /home/eda/edatools/ic610/tools/dfII/local/cdsinit /home/eda/edatools/ic610/tools/dfII/local/.cdsinit
5Modify /home/wanderer/.bashrc,add the follow in the end :
################################################################################
###########------------->>>>>ic610
alias lmli='/home/eda/edatools/ic610/tools/bin/lmgrd -c /home/ eda/edatools /ic610/share/license/license.dat'
export OA_HOME=/home/ eda/edatools /ic610/OA
export CDS_ROOT=/home/ eda/edatools /ic610
export MMSIM_ROOT=/home/ eda/edatools /mmsim61
export CDS_LIC_FILE=5280@ eda-laptop
export LM_LICENSE_FILE=$CDS_ROOT/share/license/license.dat
export CDS_Netlisting_Mode=Analog
export PATH=$MMSIM_ROOT/tools/bin:$MMSIM_ROOT/tools/spectre/bin:$CDS_ROOT/tools/bin:$CDS_ROOT/tools/dfII/bin:$PATH
export MOZILLA_HOME=/usr/bin/netscape
 

abhinav318619

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,359
hi sir ,i m a newbie,,so i need a help frm u ,,,i have downloaded cadence ic610 frm rapidshare ,,it has two folder in it one is "ic610_lnx86 base" and the other is "ic 610 lnx86isr200612081658" ,,i m a newbie to linux as well so if u can help me to install cadence ic610 ,,it will be really apreciable,,,,,thanx in advance ,,,,pls help.............

i want to install it on RHEL5 32 bit ,,,,,,,,if u can give the screenshots of ur installation process ,,th it will be very helpful.....i really need ur help ,,,i tried a lot but i m ot been able to install it ......
 

aadiltrikha

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
india
Activity points
1,380
while installin IC613 hotfix,after 99% of installation ,IT stops & asks to mount the disk,,AS i am having installation files in folder & only one folder named CDROM1 which i mounted & pressed ok but it's not going forward & i am still stucked @ 99% installation
guys reply
 

wdess2011

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
3
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,290
it is not difficult to install ubuntu system.
 

jxyang1005

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
8
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hefei,Anhui,China
Activity points
1,628
My QQ:746975855,then I tell you how to install it,When you add my QQ tell me that you are from edaboard>

---------- Post added at 15:47 ---------- Previous post was at 15:46 ----------

hi sir ,i m a newbie,,so i need a help frm u ,,,i have downloaded cadence ic610 frm rapidshare ,,it has two folder in it one is "ic610_lnx86 base" and the other is "ic 610 lnx86isr200612081658" ,,i m a newbie to linux as well so if u can help me to install cadence ic610 ,,it will be really apreciable,,,,,thanx in advance ,,,,pls help.............

i want to install it on RHEL5 32 bit ,,,,,,,,if u can give the screenshots of ur installation process ,,th it will be very helpful.....i really need ur help ,,,i tried a lot but i m ot been able to install it ......
My QQ:746975855,then I tell you how to install it,When you add my QQ tell me that you are from edaboard

---------- Post added at 15:54 ---------- Previous post was at 15:47 ----------

while installin IC613 hotfix,after 99% of installation ,IT stops & asks to mount the disk,,AS i am having installation files in folder & only one folder named CDROM1 which i mounted & pressed ok but it's not going forward & i am still stucked @ 99% installation
guys reply

first you shoud make sure that you have the full installtion files ,it often contain 5files in it ,when ask you mount the disk ,the shoud type the direction where you put you installtion files .
 
  • Like
Reactions: aria62

    aria62

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

manoj_t

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Trichy
Activity points
1,365
i have the problem on installing iscape... pls help me

manoj@Greenchip:~$ sudo sh /home/manoj/ic610/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1/SETUP.SH
sudo: unable to resolve host Greenchip
[sudo] password for manoj:


Copyright 1985-2006 by Cadence Design Systems Inc.

LICENSED SOFTWARE - REVERSE ASSEMBLY, REVERSE COMPILATION AND
REVERSE ENGINEERING PROHIBITED. The information contained in
this package is the proprietary property of Cadence Design Systems,
Inc., or its licensors, and may only be used in accordance with
the Cadence Design Systems license agreement under which this
package is provided.

Restricted Rights Notice to Government Users

Use duplication or disclosure by the Government is subject to
the restrictions as set forth in subparagraphs (c)(1)(ii) of the
Rights in Technical Data and Computer Software clause at
DFARS 252.227-7013. Unpublished - all rights reserved under the
copyright laws of the United States.

Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
555 River Oaks Parkway
San Jose, California 95134 USA



Located CDROM at /home/manoj/ic610/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1

Specify path of install directory [OR type [RETURN] to exit]: /cadence

Detecting InstallScape for lnx86...
Checking InstallScape on media...

Could not detect an InstallScape for lnx86 platform using the PATH environment variable


It is a good idea to have only one Installation of InstallScape
for lnx86 platform. If an InstallScape installation exists
please help us find it.

Do you have InstallScape for lnx86 platform installed somewhere [y/n]?n

You are on lnx86 platform
InstallScape version 03.40.p06
for platform lnx86
is available on this CD.

Do you want to install InstallScape for lnx86[y/n]:y

It is recommended that you install InstallScape
outside the Cadence installation hierarchy
and include the ~iscape/bin in your PATH environment variable.


Type the path to InstallScape installation directory [ (q to quit)]: /iscape

InstallScape installation directory: /iscape

Extracting InstallScape version 03.40.p06
for platform lnx86 in /iscape


Starting up InstallScape in GUI mode

DISPLAY environment variable is set to :0.0

If you do not see the InstallScape console
window or the it seems to be hanging then kill this
process.

Set your DISPLAY environment variable to a proper
value and manually start InstallScape by typing:
/iscape/iscape/bin/iscape.sh /home/manoj/ic610/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1:::/cadence

Initializing InstallScape using JVM at /iscape/iscape/runtime/LNX86/bin/java. This might take some time...
/iscape/iscape/bin/iscape.sh: 209: exec: /iscape/iscape/runtime/LNX86/bin/java: not found
manoj@Greenchip:~$
 

tompham

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
133
Helped
29
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
usa
Activity points
2,066
Hi jxyang1005

Do you try to run ADE XL and ADE GXL? You should try to run mixed signal mode as verilogA or verilgo drive schematic to see mmsim work.
My setup work only ADE L and verilogA do not work
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top