Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Ground plane in audio amplifier?

northumber82

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
66
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Activity points
564
Hello, a question: can a ground plane, create problems in power audio amplifiers?

Example: if touching the input with the tip of whatever, the amplifier oscillates, can it be the fault of the ground plane? (Which is on both layers, bottom and top) Or is it because the amplifier is unstable?
 

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
4,858
Helped
1,068
Reputation
2,146
Reaction score
1,053
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
26,511
The amplifier is obviously unstable. But is it because of the plane? Perhaps the additional capacitance of the plane is the problem. You need to analyze the circuit a little more closely, considering the plane caoacitance.
 

northumber82

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
66
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Activity points
564
The amplifier is obviously unstable. But is it because of the plane? Perhaps the additional capacitance of the plane is the problem. You need to analyze the circuit a little more closely, considering the plane caoacitance.
Thank you for the answer.
 

Riphagen

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
3
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
3
Location
TURKEY
Activity points
16
What is your amplifier IC , grounding method is important
ex: star grounding
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,460
Helped
3,943
Reputation
7,884
Reaction score
3,813
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,755
Hi,

can it be the fault of the ground plane? (Which is on both layers, bottom and top)
Many unexperienced people "fill" the spaces between traces and think this now is a GND layer. But it is not!
From the electrical view, a GND layer needs to be a low impedance ... thus a GND layer should be solid, without any traces in this layer.
Only if you really know what you do .. you may insert some traces at uncritical areas. .. or split the GND plane.

Low Impedance:
Don´t mix it with "low ohmic".
* low ohmic is a "DC" value. It mainly is the copper resitance between two points. Thicker and wider traces will reduce resitance.
* but "low impedance" is an AC value. (You know that an amplifier does not oscillate with DC frequency ;-) ). Unfortunately wider, or thicker traces, or copper filled areas do not necessarily reduce impedance that much.

Klaus
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,163
Helped
1,140
Reputation
2,298
Reaction score
1,113
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
53,183
if touching the input with the tip of whatever, the amplifier oscillates
it is likely being not self oscillation as you think, but rather a bare injection of EMI ( e.g , from mains ) through your fingers.
 
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top