Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Ground plane in audio amplifier?

northumber82

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
65
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Activity points
550
Hello, a question: can a ground plane, create problems in power audio amplifiers?

Example: if touching the input with the tip of whatever, the amplifier oscillates, can it be the fault of the ground plane? (Which is on both layers, bottom and top) Or is it because the amplifier is unstable?
 

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
4,815
Helped
1060
Reputation
2,130
Reaction score
1,043
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
26,232
The amplifier is obviously unstable. But is it because of the plane? Perhaps the additional capacitance of the plane is the problem. You need to analyze the circuit a little more closely, considering the plane caoacitance.
 

northumber82

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
65
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
8
Activity points
550
The amplifier is obviously unstable. But is it because of the plane? Perhaps the additional capacitance of the plane is the problem. You need to analyze the circuit a little more closely, considering the plane caoacitance.
Thank you for the answer.
 

Riphagen

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
3
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
3
Location
TURKEY
Activity points
16
What is your amplifier IC , grounding method is important
ex: star grounding
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,115
Helped
3864
Reputation
7,726
Reaction score
3,757
Trophy points
113
Activity points
113,787
Hi,

can it be the fault of the ground plane? (Which is on both layers, bottom and top)
Many unexperienced people "fill" the spaces between traces and think this now is a GND layer. But it is not!
From the electrical view, a GND layer needs to be a low impedance ... thus a GND layer should be solid, without any traces in this layer.
Only if you really know what you do .. you may insert some traces at uncritical areas. .. or split the GND plane.

Low Impedance:
Don´t mix it with "low ohmic".
* low ohmic is a "DC" value. It mainly is the copper resitance between two points. Thicker and wider traces will reduce resitance.
* but "low impedance" is an AC value. (You know that an amplifier does not oscillate with DC frequency ;-) ). Unfortunately wider, or thicker traces, or copper filled areas do not necessarily reduce impedance that much.

Klaus
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,108
Helped
1131
Reputation
2,280
Reaction score
1,102
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
52,902
if touching the input with the tip of whatever, the amplifier oscillates
it is likely being not self oscillation as you think, but rather a bare injection of EMI ( e.g , from mains ) through your fingers.
 
Toggle Sidebar

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


X
Top