Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

gps antenna connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

devil6600

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
250
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,931
hi all,
i have a gps module which i have already interfaced with pc via max232 but still i need antenna connected to get lat/long from it, i just wanted to know that is it necessary to connect the antenna ground with module ground?
if you can see in the image attached, at the connector end there is a outer cover (golden) and inside that the main antenna wire. so is it necessary to connect the outer cover to ground? i have already tried connecting only the inside wire with module with no success.
kindly advice
thanks
 

Attachments


devil6600

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
250
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,931
thanks for your response
i have connected the shield to the ground and inside antenna wire to the module antenna port. i am unable to get fix.
i get this string (@ 1hz) when i power up the module
Code:
$GPRMC,140220.175,V,2232.1536,N,11401.1938,E,,,,,,N*76
$GPGSV,1,1,01,13,,,31*78
$GPGGA,140221.173,2232.1536,N,11401.1938,E,0,00,50.0,32.18,M,0.00,M,,*67
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
and after 2-3 minutes i get these strings
Code:
$GPRMC,140221.173,V,2232.1536,N,11401.1938,E,,,190411,,,N*7D
$GPGSV,3,1,12,13,36,237,31,30,02,092,,28,02,289,,24,37,168,*77
$GPGSV,3,2,12,23,22,198,,20,00,185,,19,57,016,,16,17,076,*79
$GPGSV,3,3,12,11,56,175,,08,16,324,,07,46,324,,06,18,042,*79
$GPGGA,140222.172,2232.1536,N,11401.1938,E,0,00,50.0,32.18,M,0.00,M,,*65
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
i didn't found the matching connector for the antenna so i connected the shield of the antenna to ground with alligator clip and inside wire with a 24 AWG wire
kindly advice to make it work.

also, does antenna wire length have any effect on fix?

thanks
 

horace1

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,123
Helped
596
Reputation
1,188
Reaction score
573
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Norwich, UK
Activity points
13,071
it looks as though you are getting valid NMEA messages
Code:
$GPGGA,140222.172,2232.1536,N,11401.1938,E,0,00,50.0,32.18,M,0.00,M,,*65
is 2232.1536 North latitude and 11401.1938 east Longitude
however the number of satelites is 0 so you probably have no signal

for details of NMEA messages see
NMEA data

buildings etc can effect the signal quality, we have buildings where we have to hang the antenna out of the window.
 
Last edited:

ckshivaram

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,070
Helped
2,148
Reputation
4,302
Reaction score
2,088
Trophy points
1,393
Location
villingen (Germany) / Bangalore
Activity points
30,097
keep it ON for 20 to 30 min and see whether gps is taking time to do a hot or warm start....

See how long it takes to be stable or you trigger warn or hot start at power ON..............
 

devil6600

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
250
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,931
thanks ckshivaram and horace1, i kept the module on for 20 minutes and i got the fix.
earlier i was switching it on for just 5-10 minutes.
 

RCinFLA

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
571
Helped
185
Reputation
374
Reaction score
182
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
5,593
The picture you are showing is an amplified ceramic patch antenna with male MCM connector. This is common configuration. The LNA gain is typically 20 db to 30 db depending on model and cable length. It needs to be placed on at least 10 cm on a side ground plane.

It is 50 ohm RG174 cable needing femaie MCM connector on GPS receiver module. There are adaptors available if you have a different RF connector on your GPS receiver module.

Alligator clip connection for 1575 MHz won't do.
 
Last edited:

ckshivaram

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,070
Helped
2,148
Reputation
4,302
Reaction score
2,088
Trophy points
1,393
Location
villingen (Germany) / Bangalore
Activity points
30,097
in future if you dont use your GPS for more than 15 to 20 days then afterthat if you switch ON you may get all the parameters as zero.......

at that time dont panic.. the GPS has been reset.. allow it to be ON till its getrs new data.. it may take its own time....
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top