Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Good RTOS for beginners

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinoth14

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a novice programmer for RTOS. Which RTOS should I choose to learn?
Is there any developement kit for learning RTOS ?

I have two years of experience in designing and programming embedded systems. I am working on PIC32 and comfort with C language.

There are numerous RTOSs available ranging from free open source to commercial products with royalty fees per unit manufactured.

RTOSs basically fall into two main camps, cooperative and preemptive scheduling/multitasking, with each contains several variations and features within these two main classes.

An RTOS is NOT a "one size fits all" situation by any means, the choice of a proper RTOS depends largely on the specific application requirements and its required tasks to be performed.

A embedded programmer should learn both the advantages and disadvantages for each of the basic methods of RTOS implementation and a number of possible features they can offer, this is especially true of a novice programmer.

First a few questions:

What experience do you have designing and programming embedded systems, microcontroller based system, etc?

What specific microcontrollers do you have experience working with in your designs, AVR, PIC, ARM, etc?

What programming languages are you comfortable using while coding, C, assembly, etc?

How much experience have you had with the use of interrupts and their associated Interrupt Service Routines (ISR)?