Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fundamentals of RTL verification

Status
Not open for further replies.

amjad

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to the ASIC world ?

Can you help me to understand abou the RTL Verification exactly ?

or else Please let me know where can I get these fundamentals ?

Re: RTL verification

I'd recommend books by Ben Cohen, Harry Foster, Janick Bergeron and Andreas Meyer on the subject of verification.

Also, sign up for the verificationguild.org forums run by Janick.

Writing Test Benches by Janick Bergureon, also Morgan Kaufman, asic and fpga verification guide

Hi amjad,

U start the ASIC design flow by writing RTL codes either in VHDL or VERILOG,
when u have the finished RTL code, it must be verified that whether the RTL code will function as per design funtional specification and also it has to verified that it funtions correctly when it is placed in actuall design environment,
so for that u setup a verification environment where ur RTL code is placed in that environment and set of test vectors are fired to it,
the output for this set of test vectors from RTL codes are captured and they are verified for its correctness,
this is called RTL verification,