Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] fully differential amplifier and CMFB

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenjuice

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm designing fully differential amplifier to utilize at bandgap reference circuit.
And I studied CMFB for fixing output common mode level of amplifier.
But I have heard CMFB also drives input voltages of amplifier which is virtual short.
It is true?

Actually I already made fully differential amplifier.
But if i connect amplifier with PTAT, CTAT generator, CMFB make output common mode level constant but i can't make its virtual short.
This is my circuit. Tell me my problem. Thank you in advance.

Fully differential amplifier.png
Total circuit.png

I doubt that a fully differentially amplifier is right in this place. Unfortunately the circuit can't be analyzed without knowing the PTAT/CTAT output characteristic.

To work in the shown circuit, PTAT and CTAT output node must be bidirectional current sources but they most likely aren't.

Generator.png

This picture is my ptat/ctat generator which use vbe and variation of vbe from different bjt emitter junction width. And of cource my ptat and ctat node have bidirectional current.

As i know, if i design it well, its input voltages should be virtual short.

But it isn't. Why? and Could you teach me how can i make specific virtual short which i want using CMFB.

this CMFB which i use can also regulate input voltage level?

O.K., not bidirectional current sources, but complementary N and P current sources. So the fully differential amplifier can work with suitable dimensioning.