Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA Kit : Xilinx Starter vs Altium LiveDesign

Status
Not open for further replies.

checkmate

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm relatively new to FPGAs and I'm contemplating on getting a board. I'm deciding between Xilinx's Starter Kit, as well as Altium's LiveDesign Evaluation Kit. Anyone can comment on the pros and cons of both boards? Another important point is if Altium's board could be used with ISE or Quartus, since it was originally intended to evaluate their own software which expires after 30 days.

hey dude.. @ltium is good..our univ got the full version of the eda tool.. its good.. with all tools integrated.. and more over their nanoboard is also comprahensive..

I guess their eval board is compatable with ISE.

you cud try the evaluation kit.. it is surely advantages compared to the latter..but the only disadvantage is their documentation. if u cud mail them thru their univ u can surely get students trainer kit..

i got an evaluation cd from them.. its good.. and prompt service..

give it a shot.!

with regards,

Re: FPGA Kit : Xilinx Starter vs @ltium LiveDesign

checkmate said:
I'm relatively new to FPGAs and I'm contemplating on getting a board. I'm deciding between Xilinx's Starter Kit, as well as @ltium's LiveDesign Evaluation Kit. Anyone can comment on the pros and cons of both boards? Another important point is if @ltium's board could be used with ISE or qu@rtus, since it was originally intended to evaluate their own software which expires after 30 days.