Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA Design Engineer JOB Market

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimcomccabe

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

i am studying System On Chip Design and i am trying to figure out the way that the job market is working and generally what is the deal with the fpga / digital ic design jobs.

First of all, to be honest , i think that UK is the country with the biggest FPGA job Market. Is it true?

Secondly, how many levels are there for an FPGA / Digital Ic design engineer ? I only know junior, senior and principal but i do not know what experience corresponds to each level.

Moreover, what is the deal with the contracts, full time ,part time and stuff like that? For example, if you have a permanent position in a corporation/industry then does this mean that you will spend the rest of your life in this company? If you enter a company as a junior engineer and after 3 years you get higher level(senior) and you want to apply for a senior level fpga job in an other company, is it possible? If yes, what are the main issues in this case?