Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

for loop in verilog code

Status
Not open for further replies.

gnoble29

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have written a verilog code using 'for' loop..My aim is to display 2,3,4 in three consecutive clock cycle.But for the first clock cycle itself,my 'for' loop is executing fully and showing output as 4.How can I avoid this??
(I studied that for loop will execute sequentially only.But I am not getting output sequentially.)
I am including my code below...Plz help me...

module for_test(clk,n,m); //programe for testing the for loop

input clk;

output [7:0] m;
output n;

reg [7:0] m;
integer n;

always @(posedge clk)

begin
for(n=2;n>=0;n=n-1)

begin
if(n==2)
begin
m <=8'h02;
end

else
if(n==1)
begin
m <=8'h03;
end
else
if(n==0)
begin
m <=8'h04;
end
end
end
endmodule

you have to remember that for loops unroll into parrallel hardware. So in your case on each rising edge of the clock the whole for loop executes. So at the end of a clock edge, m will be 4. You need to use a counter that increments on the clock edge. for loops should not be used often.

ok..then how can i modify the above program so that the for loop will
execute only one iteration for each clock.....
PLZ help me....thanks for ur reply

TrickyDicky already gave you the answer. For loops in Verilog are used to produce parallel hardware, and do not execute in the same way that a software for loop would. Describe a hardware counter and use its values to generate your output.

r.b.