Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First time doing big layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

jdhar

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

This is my first time on this forum, and I thought I would give it a try since there seems to be lots of knowledgable people here.

I have completed a design for what is essentially a single-board computer for my company. I'm at the point where I need to start layout/board design, but my problem is that I have never done anything of this magnitude. Right now, I am constrained to a 6.5x5" 6-layer board, with a fair amount of Analog circuitry. I was hoping that some people could give me good tips or point me to resources that talk about general strategies for laying out and routing. I am using Protel DXP 2004, and my general strategy so far has been to arrange components in individual (mostly modular) blocks off the board, and then put each block on the board (rearranging if necessary), and manually routing within each block. I then plan on letting the auto-router complete the connections between the blocks and to/from the DSP.

I hope this in the right place - forgive me if it is not. Thank you kindly,

Jai

You have not really given enough information for precise answers

I have tried DXP2004 on an old PC104 design, which was done before in 99SE/Specctra with little trouble.

The Situs router hardly looks at it, seems there are issues with rounding errors during rules setup and so you need to allow additional tolerances within the channel rules to get it done.