Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First 555 Monostable Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

uncrocks

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm very new with pcb's and electronics in general. I've created a schematic for a circuit I'd like to build.

timer.png

What I'm hoping it'll do is once the power is turned on, the output will go high for ~1 second, then remain low, so I went with a 10uF poly film cap and a 100k 1% resistor to get the timing (1.1*R*C). Looking at the schematic, does anyone have any suggestions or see any problems?

Things appear shipshape.

My simulation worked as your plan describes. The trigger pin is pulled low on power-up. The output stays high for about 1 sec.

Assuming a 100k resistor provides sufficient current to turn on the transistor and energize the relay coil, you're good to go.

I would make two comments:

1. The 100K resistor in the base of the transistor is *probably* too high in value. It depends on the relay specification which you have not supplied but a value of 10K or less would be more normal.
2. I would add a diode (1N4148 or 1N400x) across the relay coil, cathode end to +VCC. it should not normally conduct but as the transitor turns off and the relay coil current is stopped, it could produce a significant reverse poolarity voltage as it's magnetic field collapses. The diode would conduct in this case and protect the transistor.