Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Extending pulse width

Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,303
I have DMM which is producing pulse with duration of around few microseconds.
The pulse need to be sampled in PLC, which has sampling rate of 1ms.
In other words the cycle loop can't be reduced to microsecond resolution.
So it's impossible to reliably detect the pulse from DMM.

orsZq.png


Could somebody recommend a simple TTL based circuit solution, which will be able to capture that microsecond resolution pulse and convert it into millisecond resolution pulse?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
21,994
Helped
4,591
Reputation
9,196
Reaction score
4,812
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
145,219
Hi,

look for "monoflop" or "monostable multivibrator"

Klaus

btw: an internet search for "pulse extender circuit" gives more than 1 million hits with schematics and descriptions.
 

d123

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,385
Helped
483
Reputation
970
Reaction score
504
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Spain
Activity points
25,914
Hi,

Might not work as hoped as I haven't checked myself, that's why the upper NOT gate is dashed, to be added to source and sink faster. If it can, if low input needed for PLC, hex inverter would still have two unused gates to make use of one of them. The 555 suggestion would work as it seems only requirement is >1ms.

DSC_0409.JPG



Apologies for 2.8 MB photo, 'phone doesn't seem to have option for reducing MB to kB.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,806
Helped
2,221
Reputation
4,448
Reaction score
2,159
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
62,452
There are parts in the 74HC series that would be happy
to stretch a 5V pulse. Look at 74HC122 (single) or '123
(dual). Add a 5V "wall wart" and a couple of BNC connectors
and you're there (although I'd keep the output stub pretty
short as the HC series isn't going to drive 50 ohms to the
rail; a "TTL" input however may be forgiving of this, and
maybe OK thermally if you keep the rep rate down).
 

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,756
Helped
284
Reputation
582
Reaction score
374
Trophy points
83
Activity points
7,979
A solution, one chip, timing accuracy +/- 2% over T & V.

1655936975268.png


1655936920845.png

to
An alternative, advantage pulse in leading edge synch to output stretched edge.
Needs one instruction typed into C file, a start instruction. Otherwise code-less.
If pulse in rep rate > period out, each pulse in will truncate pulse out and restart it.

1655937775846.png


Other resources available onchip -
1655937202667.png


Note designs above can manage Pulse in << 1 uS easily.


Regards, Dana.
 
Last edited:

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,756
Helped
284
Reputation
582
Reaction score
374
Trophy points
83
Activity points
7,979
Last edited:

crutschow

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
4,098
Helped
953
Reputation
1,904
Reaction score
987
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Colorado USA Zulu -7
Activity points
23,197
Generally speaking slow risetime is a problem.
I know "generally speaking" it is, but it may not be for the PLC which is apparently just sampling the input.
Also terminating an input with large C
and possible damage to PLC input chip on power down.
That's simply solved by putting a small resistor (e.g. 1kΩ) in series with the PLC input.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,806
Helped
2,221
Reputation
4,448
Reaction score
2,159
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
62,452
A question occurs to me, which is

"Can the PLC be set to "edge trigger" rather than "level
trigger, with slow response"?

I'm no PLC expert but seems like maybe there's a
"feature" like trigger noise rejection / debounce, for
the specific make/model, that might have options if
you peeled back the lid?
 

LaTeX Commands Quick-Menu:

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top