Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Export Interdigital filter from Microwave office to Altium

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctzof

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
What is the procedure to export an interdigital filter that was designed with microwave office to Altium including the vias? There are similar topics in the forum but not for interdigital filters that include vias. Sorry I am new to this ( both altium and microwave office) and a more detailed explanation would be appreciated.

Obtain DXF output from Altium then import into AWR.

Yes this works but it´s just gives me a something like the shape of the filter which I´ll ´have later to fill with copper. Also the vias don´t appear on the layout. Can you give me a more detailed description cause maybe I am doing something wrong.

DXF isn't ideal for RF artwork because
- there is no "filled polygon" object in DXF, and one common workaround (zero width closed POLYLINE) isn't understood by all programs
- most PCB tools interpret DXF as mechanical drawings and don't know what to do with closed POLYLINEs

You better use Gerber (Extended Gerber RS274X). AWR can export that layout format. You will get one file per layer, and the vias will need some manual postprecessing to really tag them as PCB vias (place manually based on imported via layer drawing).

Last edited:

Yes this works but it´s just gives me a something like the shape of the filter which I´ll ´have later to fill with copper. Also the vias don´t appear on the layout. Can you give me a more detailed description cause maybe I am doing something wrong.