Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Equivalent to CA3240

aless2056

Junior Member level 3
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
280
Hello guys, my friend needs the CI CA3240, but this item is missing from distributors (Farnell, Mouser, Digikey,...).

What would be the option to replace this CI in DPID format?
 

Aussie Susan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
1,437
Helped
396
Reputation
792
Reaction score
425
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
16,801
When you say 'missing' do you really mean it is on back-order?
I'm sure there are many manufacturers sites where you could do a parametric search for an equivalent.
Susan
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
50,062
Helped
14,506
Reputation
29,282
Reaction score
13,449
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
287,605
Presume there's no exact replacement. Parametric search presupposes that you know the actual application requirements:
- supply voltage
- input common mode range
- output voltage swing
- input current
- precision (offset and drift)
- GBW, slew rate
- noise
 

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,844
Helped
294
Reputation
604
Reaction score
408
Trophy points
83
Activity points
8,290
Ebay has them if you just need to repair something.

If production just search TI, ON, ST for RRIO OpAmps to help you start
the selection process.

Not knowing what the circuit requirements look like this part a little unusual in its input
CM range is .5 V outside its supply rails. So be careful when using search tools and
qualifying the parameters for selection, unless you know the circuit does not need this
capability.


Regards, Dana.
 
Last edited:

d123

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,423
Helped
484
Reputation
972
Reaction score
508
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Spain
Activity points
26,336
I just read here that it can replace LM741, so maybe vice versa. When I saw Jurassic CA3240, LM324 sprang to mind - rightly or wrongly.
 

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,844
Helped
294
Reputation
604
Reaction score
408
Trophy points
83
Activity points
8,290
CA3240 input bias and offset current an order of magnitude lower
that the LM324, one possible reason, depending on design re-
quirments, why thats not a good substitution.

1659725879541.png


LM324 :

1659725916515.png





Regards, Dana.
 

d123

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,423
Helped
484
Reputation
972
Reaction score
508
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Spain
Activity points
26,336

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,844
Helped
294
Reputation
604
Reaction score
408
Trophy points
83
Activity points
8,290
Just a thought, we really need to know more about the circuit as there are other
differences. Like the CA3240 will operate down to just +5V, whereas the LF353 cant
do that. But the TL072 can....

Just too many unknowns to do a good recommendation.


Regards, Dana.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,830
Helped
2,228
Reputation
4,464
Reaction score
2,176
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
62,765
Major semiconductor vendors used to take the time to make
cross-reference / substitution tables, to enable their parts to
"steal sockets". A few paper databooks I looked at, didn't.

TI's online cross reference shows only Renesas (<Intersil<Harris<RCA)
CA3240. This part would have been built in fabs they no longer
operate (most likely Findlay OH) and it's probably a die bank
situation with very little motivation. Or inventory.

TI general search turns up the LM148/248/348 datasheet when
you look for CA3240, yet that keyword seems not to appear in
the datasheet. Maybe not a good enough fit to claim anything
but worth the MarCom people burying a closest-fit keyphrase
somewhere in the fine print?

Harris / Intersil may have offloaded die bank products to
Rochester, worth a look if you need it bad and don't mind the
money.
 

d123

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,423
Helped
484
Reputation
972
Reaction score
508
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Spain
Activity points
26,336
Just a thought, we really need to know more about the circuit as there are other
differences.
Like the CA3240 will operate down to just +5V, whereas the LF353 cant
do that. But the TL072 can....

Just too many unknowns to do a good recommendation.


Regards, Dana.
Hi there Dana,

My thoughts as well, particularly what is highlighted in bold. I posted the links to those parts a) because it was suggested in that other forum thread (link in previous post) that they are reasonable substitutes and b) because I would imagine the thread poster is familiar with the dull chore of comparing multiple datasheets and understands caveat emptor :).
 

danadakk

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,844
Helped
294
Reputation
604
Reaction score
408
Trophy points
83
Activity points
8,290
The antique CA3240 has Mosfet inputs that have a limited input voltage range and the dual opamp produced the most noise than any other dual opamp.
Only a little bit more than a ua741 era part, Neither exactly an audio class part.....

1Khz 100 ohms

CA3240 30 - 40 nV/rootHz
741__________ 23
351__________ 15 JFET
Regards, Dana.
 
Last edited:

LaTeX Commands Quick-Menu:

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top