Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

EPROM 27C128 wrongly put in IC socket

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrWhoF

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
402
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,388
put eprom in wrong

The board consists of 27C128 eprom, HM6264 ram, 74LS373 and NEC D78310 microprocessor.
Eprom was installed the wrong way and then the right way but board doesn't work any more.
I tested eprom and it still has its data.
Question: which of components has given up???
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
ic socket bad

How do you know it is still alright?
A chip is usually destroyed if it is plugged in backwards ..

Regards,
IanP
 

    DrWhoF

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

btminzon

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
122
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Brazil
Activity points
2,144
as Murphy´s Law applied to electronics, the expensive one. But, instead of data is in eeprom, look inside, and try to see if some wire is broken. Probably the EEPROM i said. good look

Breno
 

    DrWhoF

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

DrWhoF

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
402
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,388
Well, I compared eprom with a hex file.
How can I verify that microcontroller is workig?
 

btminzon

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
122
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Brazil
Activity points
2,144
Yes, you can. Go to data sheet of uC and there is a section named Test. Normally is putting some resistor and some capacitor to a couple pin. Or, Do a program that just turn ON a LED, or blink a LED in each program cycle, or something like that. If the uC is ok, do a program and try to access the RAM module. If nothing happens, bingo, you found your problem!!

best regards

Breno
 

    DrWhoF

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

DrWhoF

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
402
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,388
I can see (oscilloscope) oscillations but nothig is happening besides that.
I'm not at all familiar with D78310 mirocontroller and I couldn't find data sheet.
What should I do next?
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
Mate,

For me the EPROM is dead ..
I haven’t seen one of that brand [27(C)xxx] that after being plugged in backwards would still be usable ..
If you have the correct HEX file burn new EPROM, plug in the right way and see how it goes ..

Regards,
IanP
 

    DrWhoF

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

sn_burki

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
260
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
1,623
its not possible for the eprom to work any more after being installed backward. I think you are mistaking in comparing your hex file, it would not take more than moment to burn out if it is installed wrongly.
 

    DrWhoF

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

DrWhoF

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
402
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,388
You are right: the EPROM is dead.
 

tomanderson

Member level 1
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,434
EPROM should be always 0xFF after wrong direction power on. unless ERPOM is just shift, not wrong dir.
 

stroma

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
114
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
837
EPROM burn instantly when you put it backward in socket
i know this from bad experience - it's dead

best regards
stroma
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top