Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronics/Telecommunications Principles - books/tutorials

Status
Not open for further replies.

yoozek

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm a Java developer. Most the time I tend to write Java applications that have nothing to do with electronics/telecommunications when it comes to hardware.

However, Recently I've become interested in electronics and telecommunications as well as robotics.
I'd literally like to understand what actually goes on inside of the computer and other electronics devices.
I'd like learn as much as I can about those great disciplines :)

That's why I'd like to ask you about useful resources about principles of electronics such as: resistors, capacitors, transistors etc.

I've already bought the necessary stuff for soldering etc.

I've done a research, and so far I've discovered the book: The Art Of Electronics by P. Horowitz to be popular.
However, this book is really huge, it contains almost everything, and I'd like to start soldering and constructing as well as designing a robot as fast as it's possible.

Is this book worth reading when I want to learn about primary electronic components at the beginning?

I've also found the MIT OpenCourseWare tutorial: **broken link removed**
Do you think this course is worth taking a look at as well?

What short book/tutorial would you recommend as a resource of studying principles of electronics at the beginning of my adventure?
I'm also looking for a short book on telecommunications: wireless transmission systems etc.