Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronic Fuse Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdock

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello edaboard forum, this is my first time posting. Attached is a circuit I’ve been trying to develop for over current protection. The idea is to replace a resettable fuse (PTC) to get faster reaction time and less temperature dependence. Please read through the operation description and view my concerns. I am some what at a loss as to how these can be overcome. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

• ElectronicFuse.pdf
    14.3 KB · Views: 146

The output of the opamp changes very fast from 0 to positive supply (max output depending on the opamp),
you are using a comparator so you will get almost the supply voltage.
Depending on which input is higher you will get one of the two voltages, not a voltage between them.
If your pulses touch the current limit then increase the current limit.
For a low Rds on mosfet if the gate voltage is in the proper level the voltage drop will be low,
according to the datasheet of your mosfet you will have a voltage drop of 0.2v at 2A with a Vgs of 5-10v.
You will have an additional voltage drop on the resistor , up to about 0.5v.

Alex

---------- Post added at 17:09 ---------- Previous post was at 16:07 ----------

I also think you should use smaller resistors in the output (the datasheet uses a typical 3K from output to positive supply)
so that you can provide more current to charge/discharge the gate capacitance faster.