Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electric shock in water

Status
Not open for further replies.

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
451
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,605
electric shock on water

Hi friends,
I have build a water tank controlling system, Using normal metallic probes as sensor. As for power supply i'm using normal Stepdown transformer 230v ac to 6-0-6 v and diodes and regulator with capacitors. Now what i'm afraid is, in INDIA due to voltage fluctuations the transformer burners out and there is current leakage between primary and secondary coil of tranformer which results in electric shock in water (due to immersed probes in water). Please tell me how can i build a isolation circuit and/or what more techniques can i use. i cannot change the type of sensor.

i've built the circuit using second part of this circuit

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/circ/sensor3.htm

Thanks

With best regards,
Amit
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,459
electric shock water direct current

I would rater concentrate on how to protect transformer than on how to react after it is damaged ..
Undervoltage doesn't cause problems; you have to protect transformer agaist overvoltage ..
Try to install a MOV in parallel with the primary, and a resistor, or thermo-resistor, and a fuse in series with the primary ..
Regards,
IanP
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
451
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,605
electric shock in water

Thanks a lot for replying Ianp. What values of resistors should i take. And still for knowledge is there anyway to do isolation.
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,309
Reputation
4,620
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,459
It can be assumed that the voltage accross the series resistor shouldn't be more than 5% of 230V --> ≈10V ..
I am no sure what is the VA rating of the 230/2x6V transformer, but let's assume it is 10VA ..
That means that the primary current is ≈50mA ..
Bearing in mind that the voltage (5%) is 10V, the resistrs valuecan be ≈200Ω rated for at least 1W ..

As far as the isolation issue is concerned, I wouldn't suggest any other option but 1:1 isolation transformer with one of its poles connected to earth through a parallel RC tank consistng of >1MΩ resistor and ≈10-100nF/250Vac capacitor ..

Regards,
IanP
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,651
The trans may break from any phenomenon,so it is better (for safety) use high isolation DC/DC converter at output of transomer (regulated trans output),you can have double layer isolation,DC/DC have 3000VDC isolation and you can buy them easily.


You can use dc/dc for only the probe section of you circuit (probe side isolation) and other parts need not to be isolated ,you can change data by optocoupler for isolation of data!
 

rajudp

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
644
Helped
123
Reputation
246
Reaction score
96
Trophy points
1,308
Location
India
Activity points
4,055
use a good quality transformer, use the transformer power rating more than what you need in your design. if you encounter the problems you cam make a transformer that can stand upto 270 volt.
 

darla1

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
163
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,115
hi garg

better take isolation volateg range 4kv to 5kv for rural particularly in INDAI

darla
 

joebazoka

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
105
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Argentina
Activity points
734
Maybe you can use an ultrasonic sensor.
 

adidav

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
16
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Romania
Activity points
1,395
The IanP ideas is very good and this will protect the transformer from overvoltage. Also you cand add in parralel with the fusible or resistor a small lamp (AC neon lamp) or a led with the rol of signaling the fault state.

Also an ideea is to use a optocouplers between the sensor and the main unit and a DC/DC convertor for powering the sensor. In this case one optocoupler to send information from sensor. The DC/DC convertor cand be made using a 555 circuit as astabil and small ferrite transformer.

The grounding the whole system is needed also.

A small circuit using a microcontroller like 12F683:
- PWM for genreate the signal for sensor
- ADC for measure the value after sensor
- a sw implemetation of IIC for comunicate with another module
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top