Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

EDK 11.5 Digilent Spartan 3e Starter DDR memory test fails

Status
Not open for further replies.

akgs

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi guys,

i am an undergrad student working on my thesis. i am new to edk and fpga based design. i have just created a project using edk bsb tool. i have a uart, block ram, and off chip ddr sdram in my system. after building the system and generating the bitstream, i am not able to get the memory test working. it says ddr sdram test fails over the hyperterminal. could you please help me with this problem? i have been struggling for many days trying to find a proper solution as i have not done anything apart from using the given components in the system.

thanks!

This sounds similar to the rather odd problems I was getting with my project. I had lots of strange behaviour due to the DDR SDRAM controller that XPS Base System Builder Wizard was defaulting to.

The controllers, mch_opb_ddr v1.00.c and v1.00.b did not work with the Micron MT46V32M16-6T on the 3E Revision D starter kit.

My solution was to use mch_opb_ddr v1.00.a (Note the "a").

I have posts on the Xilinx forum about it and sent Goran Bilski some files to loot at. I think it might have been a timing issue but I didn't have time to look into it.

Other issues were the Microblaze seemingly hanging when I added more IP to the build. We suspected it was due to the way I was handling FSL communications and I spent weeks looking at the wrong things.